## CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES OF EUROPE

## Resolution 75 (1999)<sup>1</sup> on the verification of procedures for appointing national and special guest delegations to the CLRAE and of members' credentials

(Extract from the Official Gazette of the Council of Europe – June 1999)

## The Congress,

- 1. Having regard to Articles 2, 3 et 4.2 of the charter of the CLRAE and to Rule 2.a of the CLRAE Rules of Procedure setting forth the requirements on the composition of national delegations, and the official procedure for the designation of members and special guest delegations;
- 2. Having regard to Article 3 of the Statutory Resolution and to Article 6 of the CLRAE charter setting forth a balanced distribution of the titular members and substitutes of national delegations between the two chambers;
- 3. Taking note of the Bureau report submitted by Ms Dini and Mr Skard, Rapporteurs;
- 4. Noting too that 1999 is not a year in which the delegations have to be renewed and that the purpose of this Resolution is not to make an overall assessment of the situation but to focus on a number of changes and new factors;
- 5. Reiterates that the balanced composition of both chambers and an even distribution of titular members and substitutes are prerequisites for the smooth functioning of the CLRAE and that the Member states must therefore set out explicitly in their national procedures the distribution of titular members and substitutes between the two chambers:
- 6. Also draws to the attention of countries that do not yet have a system of regional self-government the fact that Article 3 of the Statutory Resolution and Article 6 of the CLRAE charter are applicable;
- 7. Notes with regret the extension among the delegations of the practice of appointing substitutes not belonging to either of the chambers exceptionally accepted in the past despite Paragraph 9 of Resolution 60 (1998) and the fact

- that it is not consistent with the present CLRAE rules: the countries in question being Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Iceland, Liechtenstein, San Marino and "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia";
- 8. Regrets that all the members of the national delegation of Andorra and some members of the delegations of Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Luxembourg, Moldova, Poland and Ukraine have failed to indicate their political affiliation in accordance with Article 2 paragraph 2(c) of the Congress charter and Rule 2, paragraph 3 of the Rules of Procedure, and invites the delegations concerned to forward the information as soon as possible; with regard to the Russian Federation, the Secretariat has been notified of the members' affiliation to the CLRAE political groups, but details of their national political affiliation have not yet been supplied;
- 9. Deplores that, in the composition of most national delegations, women are not equitably represented in accordance with Article 2, paragraph 2(d) of the Congress charter and that there are no women in the delegations of Andorra, Greece, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania or "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", and therefore invites those countries to remedy the situation;
- 10. Accepts the Georgian procedure and national delegation, inviting the Georgian authorities, when next appointing delegates, to ensure that the Autonomous Republic of Adjaria, the only region of Georgia with self-governing status, is represented by a titular member;
- 11. Is convinced that a proper application of Article 2(1) of the charter and Rule 2a, paragraph 2(ii) of the Rules of Procedure would exclude the Turkish Governors from eligibility for membership of the Congress in the future and for as long as Turkish legislation remains unchanged. Notes that for the time being the procedure for appointing members of the Turkish national delegation has not been modified;
- 12. Notes that the question concerning the procedure for appointing mayors and Queen's commissioners within the Netherlands delegation remains open and is the subject of draft recommendation No. 55;
- 13. Notes that for more than 6 months the mandates of Mr Kovacs, Mr Ringelhann and Mr Vago from the Hungarian delegation have not been valid and therefore no longer considers them members of the Congress;
- 14. Reserves its position on the composition of the Armenian delegation of which it has not received notification and instructs the Bureau to examine this delegation's credentials as soon as they are received.

<sup>1.</sup> Debated by the Congress and adopted on 15 June 1999, 1st sitting (see doc. CG (6) 1, draft resolution, presented by Mrs Dini and Mr Skard, Rapporteurs).