COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION AND DIGITAL TECHNOLOGIES (MSI-DIG)

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Type of committee: Subordinate Body

Terms of reference valid from: 1 January 2020 until 31 December 2021

PILLAR/PROGRAMME/SUB-PROGRAMME

Pillar: Human Rights

Programme: Effective ECHR implementation

Sub-programme: Freedom of expression, media and data protection

SPECIFIC TASKS

- (i) Prepare a draft recommendation by the Committee of Ministers to member States on the impacts of digital technologies on freedom of expression;
- (ii) Prepare a guidance note on best practices by and with internet intermediaries and other stakeholders towards effective legal and procedural frameworks for self-regulatory and co-regulatory mechanisms for the restriction or moderation of illegal or harmful content, in line with the European Convention on Human Rights, the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights and other relevant Council of Europe standards on freedom of expression and information.

COMPOSITION

Members:

The Committee shall be composed of 13 members, comprising seven member States' representatives, designated by the CDMSI, and six independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General with recognised expertise related to freedom of expression, media and the functioning and broader impacts of digital technologies.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of these 13 members.

Other member States may designate representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Each member of the committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

Participants:

The following may send representatives without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- European Union (including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA));
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;
- European Audiovisual Observatory;
- Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE);
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and other UN agencies;
- representatives of civil society, academic communities and the private sector.

Observers:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

 non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities.

WORKING METHODS

Plenary meetings:

13 members, 2 meetings in 2020, 2 days

13 members, 2 meetings in 2021, 2 days

The Committee will appoint a Gender Equality Rapporteur from amongst its members.

The rules of procedure of the Committee shall be governed by Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Whenever appropriate, it will prioritise environmentally sound working methods, such as virtual meetings facilitated by information technology and written consultations.

BUDGETARY INFORMATION*

	Meetings per year	Number of days	Members	Plenary €K	Bureau €K	Working groups	Secretariat (A, B)
2020	2	2	13	31.9			0.5 A; 0.5 B
2021	2	2	13	31.9			0.5 A; 0.5 B

^{*}The costs include the per diem, travel costs, interpretation, translation and document printing. These costs are calculated on the basis of the 2020 standard costs.