DIRECTORATE GENERAL OF DEMOCRACY AND HUMAN DIGNITY

Directorate of Anti-Discrimination Intercultural Cities Unit



ADI-INT(2024)1

Strasbourg, 30 November 2023

COMMITTEE OF EXPERTS ON INTERCULTURAL INCLUSION (ADI-INT)

Terms of reference 2024-2027

(Extract from CM(2023)131-addfinal)

Terms of reference of the

Committee of Experts on Intercultural Inclusion (ADI-INT)

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Category: Subordinate body
Duration: 1 January 2024 - 31 December 2027
Programme: Acting for equality, diversity and respect
Sub-programme: Anti-discrimination, diversity and inclusion – Roma and Travellers² –
National minorities, regional minority languages – LGBTI - Migrants

Deliverables

Under the authority of the Committee of Ministers and as a subordinate body to the Steering Committee on Anti-Discrimination, Diversity and Inclusion (CDADI), the ADI-INT is instructed to complete the following deliverables, within the following deadlines:

	Category	Priority	Deadline
	▼	_	▼
1. Guidance document on strategies for inclusion in the fields under the responsibility of the CDADI	А	1	31/12/2025
2. Concept and methodology for a new peer learning and benchmarking tool on strategies for inclusion in the fields under the responsibility of the CDADI	А	1	31/12/2027
3. Initiatives for the dissemination and implementation at national level of CM/Rec(2022)10 on multilevel policies and governance for intercultural integration, including tools for the capacity-building programme for migrant integration	С	1	31/12/2027

Key

A: deliverable under preparation (2022-2023 terms of reference or Committee of Ministers' decision) or deliverable foreseen in the terms of reference provisionally approved for 2024-2025 and reviewed where relevant in the framework of the preparation of the draft Programme and Budget 2024-2027

B: review of implementation/re-examination foreseen by the recommendation/protocol/convention C: newly proposed deliverable

Composition

Members

The Committee of experts shall be composed of representatives of ten member States, two regional authorities and eight local authorities. The CDADI shall designate the member States, the regional authorities and the local authorities to be represented in the ADI-INT; the local authorities shall be designated among members of the Intercultural Cities Programme upon a proposal by its Secretariat. Those member States, regional authorities and local authorities are invited to designate one or more representatives of the highest possible rank in the fields of intercultural integration, equality, non-discrimination and inclusion policies.

The Committee shall be composed in accordance with Article 6 of Resolution CM/Res(2021)3 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of one representative of the designated member States, regional authorities and local authorities.

Other member States may send representatives without defrayal of expenses.

¹ These terms of reference are approved for the first biennial period 2024-2025. For the second biennial period 2026-2027, they are approved on a provisional basis, subject to confirmation upon the adoption of the budget for 2026-2027.

² The term "Roma and Travellers" is used at the Council of Europe to encompass the wide diversity of the groups covered by the work of the Council of Europe in this field: on the one hand a) Roma, Sinti/Manush, Calé, Kaale, Romanichals, Boyash/Rudari; b) Balkan Egyptians (Egyptians and Ashkali); c) Eastern groups (Dom, Lom and Abdal); and, on the other hand, groups such as Travellers, Yenish, and the populations designated under the administrative term "Gens du voyage", as well as persons who identify themselves as Gypsies. The present is an explanatory footnote, not a definition of Roma and/or Travellers.

Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

Participants

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and at the charge of their corresponding administrative budgets:

- Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
- Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe;
- European Court of Human Rights;
- Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe;
- Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe;
- European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI);
- Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH);
- Steering Committee on Democracy (CDDEM);
- Committees or other bodies of the Council of Europe engaged in related work, as appropriate.

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- European Union (one or more representatives, including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA) and the European Committee of the Regions);
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;
- other international organisations, including Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR), United Nations (including the Committee for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), International Organization for Migration (IOM); and other relevant UN agencies), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Ohservers

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- Non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities;
- non-governmental organisations, international networks of local and/or regional authorities and specialised institutions (European Network Against Racism (ENAR), European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI), European Roma Institute for Arts and Culture (ERIAC), European Roma Rights Centre (ERRC), European Roma Grassroots Organisations Network (ERGO), Assembly of European Regions (AER), Council of European Municipalities and Regions (Eurocities)) and representatives of European regions, academic, professional and business communities.

Observer status may be requested in accordance with Article 8 of <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Working methods

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

	Plenary meetings ▼					
	Members incl. Chair	Meetings per year	Days per meeting			
2024	20	2	2			
2025	20	2	2			
2026	20	2	2			
2027	20	2	2			

The Chair of the ADI-INT will be invited to attend meetings of the CDADI and/or its Bureau to inform them on progress with its work.

The ADI-INT will appoint from amongst its members a Gender Equality Rapporteur.

Budgetary information*

	Meetings per year	Days per meeting	Members reimbursed	Plenary in €K	Bureau in €K	Working groups	Secretariat (A, B)
2024	2	2	20	49.8	-	-	0.5 A; 0.5 B
2025	2	2	20	49.8	-	-	0.5 A; 0.5 B
2026	2	2	20	\leftrightarrow	-	-	\leftrightarrow
2027	2	2	20	\leftrightarrow	-	-	\leftrightarrow

^{*}The costs include the per diem, travel costs, interpretation, translation and document printing. These costs are calculated on the basis of standard costs.