CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES OF EUROPE

Resolution 108 (2001)¹ on the status of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia within the CLRAE

The Congress,

1. Taking note of the report presented to its plenary session by Halvdan Skard, (Norway, L) and Leon Kieres, (Poland, R), on the status of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia within the CLRAE;

2. In view of Articles 2, 3 and 5 of the Congress Charter and in view of Rules 2, 3 and 9 of its Rules of Procedure;

3. Referring to the letter of 22 February 2001 signed by Mr Goran Svilanovic, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia requesting special guest status with the Congress for his country;

4. Noting that the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe has granted special guest status to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia on 22 January 2001;

5. Recalling the excellent relations it has developed over the last years with the Association of Free Towns and Municipalities of Serbia, the Union of Municipalities of Montenegro and the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities of Yugoslavia;

6. Acknowledging the democratic progress that has been achieved in Yugoslavia and in particular after the elections in Serbia in September 2000 and the elections observed by the Congress to the assemblies of Serbia (23 December 2000) and of Montenegro (22 April 2001);

7. Informed of the results of the mission to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia by Mr Halvdan Skard, accompanied by Mr Ulrich Bohner, Deputy Head of the CLRAE Secretariat, and in particular the commitments made on this occasion by the Yugoslav authorities;

8. Considering that these commitments concern in particular:

a. the establishment of a Yugoslav procedure for the designation of the delegation to the Congress, including the consultation of the authorities of the Republic of Serbia, the authorities of the Republic of Montenegro, the authorities of the Province of Vojvodina, the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities of Yugoslavia and the Union of Municipalities of Montenegro;

b. the principle to send four representatives and three substitutes to the Chamber of Local Authorities, as well as three representatives and four substitutes to the Chamber of Regions;

c. the commitment to respect Article 2 of the Charter concerning in particular a balanced geographical distribution of the representatives, the equitable representation of the various types of local and regional authorities, including the area of Sandjak, the equitable representation of the various political forces and the equitable representation of women and men,

9. Decides:

a. to grant special guest status to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia;

b. to instruct the Bureau to examine the procedure that will be submitted by the competent authorities of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia at its earliest possible convenience and, consequently, that the observer status of the Union of Municipalities of Montenegro and the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities of Yugoslavia will end after approval by the Bureau of the procedure for appointment of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia's delegation and following the approval of the delegation itself by the Standing Committee;

c. to include the participation of special guest representatives of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in the Standing Committee, the statutory committees and in the working group "Regions with legislative power";

d. to pursue and develop relations both with the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities of Yugoslavia and with the Union of Municipalities of Montenegro, as is the case with all other local government associations entitled to participate in the designation of delegations to the Congress;

e. to develop its activities for the promotion of local and regional self-government in South-eastern Europe, in the framework of the Stability Pact;

f. to encourage the development of the local democracy agencies, in particular the one established in Subotica (Vojvodina) as early as 1993, the one established in Niksic (Montenegro) on 11 May 2001 and the one to be established soon in Nis, concerning the east of Serbia.

^{1.} Debated by the Congress and adopted on 30 May 2001, 2nd Sitting (see Doc. CG (8) 13, draft resolution presented by Mr H. Skard and Mr L. Kieres, rapporteurs).