Terms of reference of the Committee of Experts on combating technology-facilitated violence against women and girls (GEC/PC-eVIO)

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Category: Subordinate body Duration: 1 January 2024 - 31 December 2025 Programmes: Acting for equality, diversity and respect/Upholding safety, security and integrity of society and persons Sub-programmes: Gender equality – Violence against women and domestic violence – Human trafficking/Criminal law - Terrorism

Deliverable

Under the authority of the Committee of Ministers and of the Gender Equality Commission (GEC) and the European Committee on Crime Problems (CDPC), the GEC/PC-eVIO is instructed to complete the following deliverable, within the following deadline:

	Category	Priority ▼	Deadline ▼
1. Draft Recommendation on combating technology facilitated violence against women and girls	С	1	31/12/2025
Key			

A: deliverable under preparation (2022-2023 terms of reference or Committee of Ministers' decision) or deliverable foreseen in the terms of reference provisionally approved for 2024-2025 and reviewed where relevant in the framework of the preparation of the draft Programme and Budget 2024-2027 B: review of implementation/re-examination foreseen by the recommendation/protocol/convention C: newly proposed deliverable

Composition

• Members

The Committee of Experts shall be composed of eight representatives of member States, four designated by the GEC and four by the CDPC, of the highest possible rank in the fields of preventing and combating violence against women and girls and of criminal law and procedure, if possible with experience and knowledge related to technology-facilitated violence, and six independent experts with established expertise in these fields, designated by the Secretary General.

The Committee shall be composed in accordance with Article 6 of Resolution CM/Res(2021)3 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of these 14 members of the committee. Other member States may designate representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Each member of the Committee of Experts shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

• Participants

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and at the charge of their corresponding administrative budgets:

- Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
- Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe;
- European Court of Human Rights;
- Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe;
- Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe;
- Group of Experts on Action against Violence against Women and Domestic Violence (GREVIO);
- Committee of the Parties to the Convention on the Protection of Children against Sexual Exploitation and Sexual Abuse (Lanzarote Committee);
- Cybercrime Convention Committee (T-CY);
- Steering Committee for the Rights of the Child (CDENF);
- Steering Committee for Youth (CDEJ);
- Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI);
- Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH);
- committees and other bodies of the Council of Europe engaged in related work, as appropriate.

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- European Union (one or more representatives, including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA));
- Observer states to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;
- other international organisations, including Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR), United Nations (including UN Women, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

• Observers

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant co-operation activities;
- European Network of National Human Rights Institutions (ENNHRI);
- civil society organisations (Amnesty International, European Women's Lobby (EWL) and Women against Violence in Europe (WAVE)).

Observer status may be requested in accordance with Article 8 of <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Working methods

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by <u>Resolution CM/Res(2021)3</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

	Plenary meetings 🔻					
	Members incl. Chair	Meetings per year	Days per meeting			
2024	14	2	2			
2025	14	2	2			

The Chair of the GEC/PC-eVIO will be invited to attend meetings of the CDPC, the GEC and/or their Bureaux to inform them on progress with its work.

Budgetary information*

	Meetings per year	Days per meeting	Members reimbursed	Plenary in €K	Bureau in €K	Working groups in €K	Secretariat (A, B)
2024	2	2	14	43.0	-	-	0.5 A; 0.5 B
2025	2	2	14	43.0	-	-	0.5 A; 0.5 B

*The costs include the per diem, travel costs, interpretation, translation and document printing. These costs are calculated on the basis of standard costs.