

T-PD(2022)6

Strasbourg, 12 October 2022

## CONSULTATIVE COMMITTE OF THE CONVENTION FOR THE PROTECTION OF INDIVIDUALS WITH REGARD TO AUTOMATIC PROCESSING OF PERSONAL DATA (Convention 108)

Memorandum by the Secretariat concerning elections

www.coe.int/dataprotection

### I - RULES OF PROCEDURES OF THE CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

The Rules of procedures of the Committee stipulate:

"Article 10: Chair and Vice-Chairs

- 1. The Chair, the first Vice-Chair and the second Vice-Chair shall be elected by a majority of the members present from among the representatives for a period of two years. The elections shall not, by default, be held by secret ballot unless specifically requested.
- 2. The Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for re-election for a second consecutive term of office. In exceptional cases, the Chair and Vice-Chairs shall be eligible for a third consecutive term of office. However, the term shall end if they cease to be a member of the Committee.

Article 10 bis: Membership, functions and competences of the Bureau

- 1. The Bureau shall be composed of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs of the Committee, together with four elected members and the outgoing Chair who may remain a member *de iure* of the Bureau during the mandate(s) of the new Chair. The other members shall be elected from among the representatives on the Committee for a period of two years. The members shall be eligible for re-election.
- 2. If a member of the Bureau ceases to be a member of the Committee or resigns his/her office before its normal expiry, the Committee may elect a successor for the remainder of the term of that office".

#### **II- PRESENT SITUATION**

The Bureau of the Committee comprises eight members and its current membership is as follows:

- Ms. Alessandra Pierucci (Italy, re-elected Chair in November 2020 for a term of two years)
- Vacant since August 2022 first Vice-Chair in November 2020 for a term of two years)
- Ms. Awa Ndiaye (Senegal, elected 2nd Vice-Chair in November 2020 for a term of two vears)
- Ms. Caroline Gloor Scheidegger (Switzerland, elected in November 2020 for two years)
- Mr Alan Khubaev (Russian Federation, elected in November 2020 for two years)
- Ms. Elsa Mein (Germany, elected in November 2020 for two years)
- Mr Gonzalo Sosa Barreto (Uruguay, elected in November 2020 for two years)
- Mr Jean-Philippe Walter (member de jure of the Bureau as outgoing Chair).

#### **III- ELECTIONS FOR THE COMMITTEE IN NOVEMBER 2022**

During its 43<sup>th</sup> Plenary meeting, from 16 to 18 November 2022, the Committee is invited to hold elections or re-elections for the following posts:

- Chair of the Committee for two years
- 1st Vice-Chair of the Committee for two years
- 2nd Vice-Chair of the Committee for two years
- 4 Committee Bureau members for two years

(The remaining seat of the Bureau is attributed de jure to the outgoing Chair).

#### **IV- PROCEDURE FOR ELECTIONS**

Representatives of Parties to the Convention who wish to be candidates or who would like to propose another candidate are invited to inform the Secretariat of the Committee as soon as possible and no later than Wednesday 16 November 2022, 18.00 (CET). An election by secret ballot will, when necessary, take place on Thursday 17 November 2022.

All candidates will be invited to present themselves briefly (3 minutes), before voting.

A valid decision is reached when the number of votes cast are equal to or in excess of the quorum requirement of the majority of the members of the Committee as specified in Article 9 of the Rules of procedure. For the purpose of calculating the quorum, an abstention should be seen as evidence of the committee member's participation within the meaning of Article 9.

## **APPENDIX**

# Bureau members as from 2008:

2008	Chair: Joao Pedro CABRAL Bureau: Eva SOUHRADA-KIRCHMAYER (first Vice-Chair), Jean-Philippe WALTER (second Vice-Chair) Hana ŠTEPÁNKOVÁ (Member), Pascale COMPAGNIE (Member), Eva SILBERMANN (Member) and Stefania CONGIA (Member)
2009	Chair: Joao Pedro CABRAL Bureau: Eva SOUHRADA-KIRCHMAYER (first Vice-Chair), Jean-Philippe WALTER (second Vice-Chair), Alessandra PIERUCCI (Member), Hana ŠTEPÁNKOVÁ (Member), George GRIMORE (Member) and Kevin FRASER (Member)
2010	Chair: Jean-Philippe WALTER Bureau: Hana ŠTEPÁNKOVÁ (first Vice-Chair), Catherine POZZO-DI-BORGO (second Vice-Chair), Alessandra PIERUCCI (Member), Gérard LOMMEL (Member), José LEANDRO NUNEZ GARCIA (Member), David TÖRNGREN (Member) and Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member de jure)
2011	Chair: Jean-Philippe WALTER Bureau: Hana ŠTEPÁNKOVÁ (first Vice-Chair), Catherine POZZO-DI-BORGO (second Vice-Chair), Nevana RUZIC (Member), Gérard LOMMEL (Member), José LEANDRO NUNEZ GARCIA (Member), David TÖRNGREN (Member) and Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member de jure)
2012	Chair: Jean-Philippe WALTER Bureau: Hana ŠTEPÁNKOVÁ (first Vice-Chair), Catherine POZZO-DI-BORGO (second Vice-Chair), Agustin Puente ESCOBAR (Member), Alessandra PIERUCCI (Member), Gérard LOMMEL (Member), Nevena RUZIC (Member) and Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member de jure)
2014	Chair: Jean-Philippe WALTER Bureau: Alessandra PIERUCCI (first Vice-Chair), Nevena RUZIC (second Vice-Chair), Joëlle JOURET (Member), Agustin Puente ESCOBAR (Member), Nino SARISHVILI (Member), Gérard LOMMEL (Member) and Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member de jure)
2015	Chair: Jean-Philippe WALTER Bureau: Alessandra PIERUCCI (first Vice-Chair), Nevena RUZIC (second Vice-Chair), Peter KIMPIAN (Member), Agustin Puente ESCOBAR (Member), Nino SARISHVILI (Member), Gérard LOMMEL (Member) and Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member de jure)

2016	Chair: Alessandra PIERUCCI Bureau: Jean-Philippe WALTER (first Vice-Chair), Gérard LOMMEL (second Vice-Chair), Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member), Agnès MAITREPIERRE (Member), Tamar KALDANI (Member), Nevena RUZIC (Member) and Peter KIMPIAN (Member)
2017	Chair: Alessandra PIERUCCI Bureau: Jean-Philippe WALTER (first Vice-Chair), Gérard LOMMEL (second Vice-Chair), Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member), Agnès MAITREPIERRE (Member), Tamar KALDANI (Member), Nevena RUZIC (Member) and Maria MICHAELIDOU (Member)
2018	Chair: Alessandra PIERUCCI Bureau: Tamar KALDANI (first Vice-Chair), Gérard LOMMEL (second Vice-Chair), Joao Pedro CABRAL (Membel), Awa NDIAYE (Member), Agnès MAITREPIERRE (Member), Nevena RUZIC (Member) and Jean-Philippe WALTER (Member de jure)
2019	Chair: Alessandra PIERUCCI Bureau: Tamar KALDANI (first Vice-Chair), Gérard LOMMEL (second Vice-Chair), Joao Pedro CABRAL (Member), Awa NDIAYE (Member), Agnès MAITREPIERRE (Member) then Eduardo BERTONI (Member), Nevena RUZIC (Member) and Jean-Philippe WALTER (Member de jure)
2020	Chair: Alessandra PIERUCCI Bureau: Tamar KALDANI (first Vice-Chair), Awa NDIAYE (second Vice-Chair), Elsa MEIN (Member), Alan KHUBAYEV (Member), Caroline GLOOR SCHEIDEGGER (Member), Gonzalo SOSA BARRETO (Member) and Jean-Philippe WALTER (Member de jure)