

Item 2

#### State of signatures, ratifications and accessions to the

### Convention on Cybercrime and its Protocols

COUNCIL OF EUROPE



www.coe.int/cybercrime

### Convention on Cybercrime: status 1 June 2025

Parties:78Signatories:2Invitations to accede:14

More:

► Treaty event 5 June 2025

	Recent accessions	Entry into force
Benin	20 June 2024	1 Oct 2024
Cameroon	15 Dec 2023	1 April 2024
Côte d'Ivoire	29 July 2024	1 Nov 2024
Ecuador	12 Dec 2024	1 Apr 2025
Fiji	20 June 2024	1 Oct 2024
Grenada	22 April 2024	1 Aug 2024
Kiribati	20 June 2024	1 Oct 2024
Rwanda	10 Jan 2025	1 May 2025
Sierra Leone	19 Apr 2024	1 Aug 2024
Tunisia	8 March 2024	1 July 2024

States currently invited to accede to the Convention on Cybercrime (status 1 June 2025)

Invited to accede	Valid to
Guatemala	April 2027
Kazakhstan	April 2028
Kenya	Oct 2029
Korea	Feb 2028
Malawi	Oct 2029
Mexico	
Mozambique	Feb 2029
New Zealand	Sep 2025
Papua New Guinea	Oct 2029
Sao Tome and Principe	Oct 2028
Timor Leste	Oct 2027
Trinidad and Tobago	Oct 2026
Uruguay	Feb 2028
Vanuatu	Dec 2026

#### Note:

The invitations to Burkina Faso and Niger lapsed in December 2024 and April 2025 respectively.

## First Protocol on Xenophobia and Racism: status

Albania Andorra Armenia Benin Bosnia and Herzegovina Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Iceland
Germany
Iceland Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg
Moldova

Monaco

Morocco

Norway

Poland

Portugal

Romania

Rwanda

Senegal Serbia

Slovakia

Slovenia

Sweden

Ukraine

Spain

San Marino

Paraguay

Montenegro Netherlands

North Macedonia

Parties

Signatories

#### Austria Belgium Canada Estonia Italy Liechtenstein Malta Switzerland South Africa Türkiye

Implementing the First Protocol to the Convention on Cybercrime on Xenophobia and Racism: Good practice study

Strasbourg, 1 December 2023 (provisional)

**Octopus Project** 

NOTE: Any State that has acceded to the Convention can **accede** to the First Protocol

Status as at 1 June 2025
▶ 37 Parties + 10 Signatories

# Second Protocol on electronic evidence: status

Parties	Signatories	Signatories
<ol> <li>Japan</li> <li>Serbia</li> </ol>	15. Estonia 16. Finland	<ul><li>34. Netherlands</li><li>35. North Macedonia</li></ul>
<ol> <li>Signatories</li> <li>Albania</li> <li>Andorra</li> <li>Argentina</li> <li>Austria</li> <li>Belgium</li> <li>Bulgaria</li> <li>Cabo Verde</li> <li>Canada</li> <li>Chile</li> <li>Colombia</li> <li>Costa Rica</li> <li>Croatia</li> <li>Czech Republic</li> <li>Dominican Rep.</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>France</li> <li>Germany</li> <li>Georgia</li> <li>Ghana</li> <li>Greece</li> <li>Hungary</li> <li>Iceland</li> <li>Italy</li> <li>Japan</li> <li>Latvia</li> <li>Luxembourg</li> <li>Malta</li> <li>Montenegro</li> <li>Moldova</li> <li>Morocco</li> </ol>	<ul> <li>36. Paraguay</li> <li>37. Peru</li> <li>38. Portugal</li> <li>39. Romania</li> <li>40. Slovenia</li> <li>41. Sierra Leone</li> <li>42. Spain</li> <li>43. Sri Lanka</li> <li>44. Sweden</li> <li>45. Ukraine</li> <li>46. United Kingdom</li> <li>47. USA</li> </ul>

Status as at 1 June 2025:
2 Parties + 47 Signatories
29 Parties to the Convention have not yet signed it

NOTE: Any State that has acceded to the Convention can **sign and ratify** the Second Protocol



# Next: Item 3 – Tour de table

Including:

Progress towards signature, ratification or accession to the Convention and its Protocols