

SECRETARIAT

AS/Ega (2023) CB 03 2 May 2023

To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

Synopsis

of the meetings held in Strasbourg on 25 and 27 April 2023

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, meeting in Strasbourg on 25 and 27 April 2023, with Ms Mariia Mezentseva (Ukraine, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair:

- Tuesday 25 April, from 10.30 to 12.30pm, as regards:
 - Preventing and combating violence against women with disabilities (Rapporteur: Ms Béatrice Fresko Rolfo, Monaco, ALDE): considered an information memorandum, authorised the rapporteur to carry out a fact-finding visit to Denmark (subject to the availability of funds) and held a joint hearing with the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence, with the participation of:
 - Ms Ana Peláez Narváez, Chairperson of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), Secretary General of the European Disability Forum and Executive Vice-President of CERMI Women's Foundation;
 - Ms Iris Luarasi, President of the Group of Experts on Action against Violence against Women and Domestic Violence (GREVIO);
 - Freedom of expression and assembly of LGBTI people in Europe (Rapporteur: Mr Christophe Lacroix, Belgium, SOC): heard a communication by the rapporteur and authorised him to carry out a fact-finding visit to Poland (subject to the availability of funds);
 - Preventing and combating violence and discrimination against LBQ women in Europe (Rapporteur: Ms Béatrice Fresko Rolfo, Monaco, ALDE): considered an information memorandum;
 - o **Institutional racism of law enforcement authorities against Roma and Travellers** (*Rapporteur: Mr Jean-Pierre Grin, Switzerland, ALDE*): heard a communication by the rapporteur and authorised him to carry out a fact-finding visit to Romania (*subject to the availability of funds*);
 - PACE Vigdís Prize for Women's Empowerment: considered the information memorandum prepared by the Secretariat;
 - Work programme: took note of the work programme;
 - Activities of the No Hate Parliamentary Alliance and the Parliamentary Platform for the rights
 of LGBTI people in Europe: heard communications from the General Rapporteurs;
 - Reporting back: heard reports by:
 - Mr Christophe Lacroix (Belgium, SOC) for his participation in the conference on Advancing the human rights of intersex people hosted in the framework of Iceland's Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe and organised by the SOGI Unit in co-operation with the Permanent Representation of Iceland, on 26 January 2023, in Strasbourg (France); and
 - Ms Petra Stienen (Netherlands, ALDE) for her participation in the EIGE workshop on the Role of Men, Boys and Masculinities in Gender Equality research and policies on 10 February 2023 in Vilnius, Lithuania;

- Thursday, 27 April, from 9.15am to 10.30am, as regards:
 - Closing the digital divide: promoting equal access to digital technologies (Rapporteur: Ms Edite Estrela, Portugal, SOC): approved a draft report and unanimously adopted a draft resolution;
 - PACE Vigdís Prize for Women's Empowerment: unanimously adopted the rules of the Vigdís Prize and invited the Chairperson to forward them to the Bureau of the Assembly;
 - Women's economic empowerment: held an exchange of views with Ms Anita Bhatia, UN Women Deputy Executive Director for Resource Management, Sustainability and Partnerships;
 - Next meetings: confirmed its next meetings as follows:

Committee

- Paris, 12 May 2023 (Council of Europe Office);
- Strasbourg, during the third part-session 2023 of the Assembly (19-23 June);
- Marrakech, 14-15 September 2023;
- Strasbourg, during the fourth part-session 2023 of the Assembly (9-13 October);
- Paris, 7 December 2023 (Council of Europe Office).

No Hate Parliamentary Alliance

Vienna, 8 May 2023.

Parliamentary Platform for the rights of LGBTI people in Europe

Brussels, 22 May 2023.

The Sub-Committee on the Rights of Minorities, meeting in Strasbourg on 27 April 2023 from 8.30 to 9.15am, with Ms Elvira Kovács (Serbia, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:

- 25th anniversary of the entry into force of the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages:
 - heard introductory remarks from Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
 - o held a hearing with the participation of:
 - Ms Maria Ruotanen, Director General, Council of Europe Directorate General of Democracy and Human Rights Dignity (DG II);
 - Mr Jarmo Lainio, 1st Vice-Chair of the Committee of Experts of the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages;
 - Mr Davyth Hicks, Secretary General, European Language Equality Network (ELEN).
- Next meeting: left it to its Chairperson to propose the date and place of the next meeting.

Penelope Denu, Sarah Burton, Giorgio Loddo, Élodie Fischer, Solène Falk

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe