

SECRETARIAT

**AS/Cult (2024) CB 03** 19 April 2024

# To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

COUNCIL OF EUROPE

CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

## Synopsis of the meetings held in Strasbourg on 16 and 18 April 2024

The **Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media**, meeting in Strasbourg on Tuesday 16 April 2024 from 11.30 am to 12.30 pm, with Ms Linda Hofstad Helleland (Norway, EPP/CD) in the chair, and then on Thursday 18 April 2024 from 2 pm to 3.15 pm, together with the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development, with Mr Birgir Thórarinsson (Iceland, EPP/CD), and Mr Simon Moutquin (Belgium, SOC) as co-chairs,

### Tuesday, 16 April 2024 from 11.30 am to 12.30 pm, as regards:

- Quality education for children with special education needs: challenges of the pandemic, war and digitalisation (Rapporteur: Mr Pavlo Sushko, Ukraine, EC/DA): took note of the explanatory memorandum, approved two amendments proposed by Mr Constantinos Efstathiou (Cyprus, SOC), then unanimously adopted a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, as amended, thereby approving the report;
- Museum Prize of the Council of Europe: (Committee representative for the Museum Prize of the Council of Europe: Mr Constantinos Efstathiou, Cyprus, SOC): held a public hearing with the participation of Mr Wojciech Śleszyński, Director of the Sybir Memorial Museum, Bialystok, Poland, Winner of the 2024 Council of Europe Museum Prize; and Mr Joan Roca i Albert, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the European Museum Forum (EMF);
- **Composition of the sub-committees:** approved the following changes:

Sub-Committee on Culture, Education and Democratic Values

• Ms Nina Kasimati (Greece, UEL) becomes full member, replacing Mr Evripidis Stylianidis who has left the committee,

Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society

- Ms Nina Kasimati (Greece, UEL) becomes alternate to Ms Liana Kanelli, replacing Mr Evripidis Stylianidis who has left the committee;
- Committee work programme

### Appointment of representatives for forthcoming events:

took note that Ms Edite Estrela (Portugal, SOC), in her role as committee representative to the North-South Centre, would attend the 30th Bureau meeting of the North-South Centre on 21 May 2024, in Lisbon, Portugal, with no costs for the Assembly,

approved the participation of Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE), with no costs for the Assembly, in:

- a roundtable on democratic values on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the Council of Europe, on 7 May 2024 in Kyiv, Ukraine,
- the Youth Forum hosted by the President of Ukraine, on 12 August 2024, in Kyiv, Ukraine;

**Draft motions for a resolution and a recommendation:** took note that Ms Zeynep Yildiz (Türkiye, NR) was collecting signatures for her motion for a resolution on "*Preserving European rural culture and heritage*";

- Ad hoc committee of the Bureau for PACE participation in the Council of Europe Parliamentary Conference on "Promoting safety, integrity, equality and inclusion in sport" (4-5 November 2024, Athens, Greece): took note of the establishment of an *ad-hoc* committee of the Bureau and noted the interest of the following members in being designated:
  - Mr Mehmet AKALIN (Türkiye, ALDE)
  - Mr Constantinos EFSTATHIOU (Cyprus, SOC)
  - Ms Linda Hofstad HELLELAND (Norway, EPP/CD)
  - Ms Seda GÖREN BÖLÜK (Türkiye, NR)
  - Ms Valentina GRIPPO (Italy, ALDE)
  - Mr Andries GRYFFROY (Belgium, NR)
  - Mr Mogens JENSEN (Denmark, SOC)
  - Ms Yevheniia KRAVCHUK (Ukraine, ALDE)
  - Ms Luz MARTINEZ SEIJO (Spain, SOC)
  - Ms Denisa Elena NEAGU (Romania, ALDE)
  - Mr Fabio PIETRELLA (Italy, EC/DA)
  - Mr Pavlo SUSHKO (Ukraine, EC/DA)
  - Ms Zeynep YILDIZ (Türkiye, NR)
- Communication from the Chairperson of the committee
  - heard information about the Committee meeting at the Parliament of Denmark in Copenhagen on Monday 27 and Tuesday 28 May 2024,
  - took note of the deadline of 30 April 2024 for submitting nominations for the Václav Havel Human Rights Prize 2024;
- *Next meetings:* took note that the next committee meeting would be held on 27-28 May 2024, in Copenhagen, Denmark.

### Thursday 18 April 2024 from 2 pm to 3.15 pm, as regards:

- Joint meeting with the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development: agreed to open the meeting to public; held an exchange of views on the North-South Centre with Ambassador Francesca Camilleri Vettiger, Permanent Representative of Malta, Chair of the Executive Committee of the North South Centre of the Council of Europe.

Roberto Fasino, Dana Karanjac, Silvia Arzilli, Francisco Cabrera

\_\_\_\_\_

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe