

SECRETARIAT

AS/Ega (2023) CB 07 17 October 2023

To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

Synopsis

of the meetings held in Strasbourg on 11 and 12 October 2023

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, meeting in Strasbourg on 11 and 12 October 2023, with Ms Mariia Mezentseva (Ukraine, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair:

- Wednesday 11 October, from 10.30am to 12.30pm, as regards:
 - Preventing and combating violence against women with disabilities (Rapporteur: Ms Béatrice Fresko-Rolfo, Monaco, ALDE): took position on 4 amendments to the draft resolution and asked its Chairperson to propose that the amendments unanimously approved be declared as adopted by the Assembly under Rule 34.11 of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure;
 - Institutional racism of law enforcement authorities against Roma and Travellers (Rapporteur: Mr Jean-Pierre Grin, Switzerland, ALDE): approved a draft report and unanimously adopted a draft resolution as amended;
 - Vigdís PACE Prize for Women's Empowerment: decided to propose to the Bureau of the Assembly the following three persons, with recognised standing in the field of women's empowerment, to be independent members to compose the Selection Panel of the Prize: Mr Robert Biedroń, former member of the Polish delegation to the PACE, member of the European Parliament and current Chair of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality (FEMM) in the European Parliament; Ms Sandra Konstatzky, Head of the Austrian Ombud for Equal Treatment and Ms Iris Luarasi, former President of the Group of Experts on action against violence against women and domestic violence (GREVIO);
 - ECRI General Policy Recommendation on preventing and combating intolerance and discrimination against LGBTI people: heard a presentation by Mr Michael Farrell, Member of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance in respect of Ireland;
 - o **Global rules to eliminate all forms of religious oppression** (Rapporteur: Ms Arta Bilalli Zendeli, North Macedonia, SOC): considered an introductory memorandum;
 - Appointment of a rapporteur: following a vote, appointed Mr Fourat Ben Chikha (Belgium, SOC)
 as rapporteur for report on Sexual violence against men and boys and heard his declaration of
 absence of conflict of interest;
- Thursday, 12 October, from 10.30am to 11.30am, as regards:
 - Sub-Committees: approved the following changes:
 - Sub-Committee on Gender Equality: Ms Maria Syrengela (Greece, EPP/CD) and Ms Meryem Göka (Türkiye, NR) join the Sub-Committee as full members and Mr George Stamatis (Greece, EPP/CD) and Ms Gökçe Gökçen (Türkiye, SOC) as their alternates. Ms Sena Nur Çelik (Türkiye, NR) leaves the sub-committee;

- Sub-Committee on the Rights of Minorities: Mr Evripidis Stylianidis (Greece, EPP/CD) and Mr Mustafa Canbey (Türkiye, NR) join the Sub-Committee as full members and Mrs Rena Dourou (Greece, UEL) as alternate member of Mr Stylianidis. Ms Sena Nur Çelik (Türkiye, NR) leaves the sub-committee;
- Sub-Committee on Disability, Multiple and Intersectional Discrimination: Mr. George Stamatis (Greece, EPP/CD), Mr Mario Alejandro Borghese (Italie, NR) and Mr Berdan Öztürk (Türkiye, UEL) join the Sub-Committee as full members and Ms Maria Syrengela (Greece, EPP/CD) as alternate member of Mr Stamatis;
- Conference on Money and Democracy an Uneasy Relationship (Cologne, 7-8 December 2023): appointed Mr Jean-Pierre Grin (Switzerland, ALDE) as a member to the Ad Hoc Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the Conference (at no cost to the Assembly);
- Next meeting: confirmed its next meeting as follows:

Committee

- Paris, 7 December 2023 (Council of Europe Office);
- o **Banning "conversion practices" for LGBTI persons: a human rights imperative**: held an exchange of views with Ms Dunja Mijatović, Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, during a joint meeting with the Parliamentary Platform for the rights of LGBTI people in Europe.

Penelope Denu, Élodie Fischer, Louise Morlon

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe