

SECRETARIAT

AS/Mon (2023) CB 07 13 October 2023

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Synopsis

of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 10 and 12 October 2023

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg on 10 (in camera) and 12 October 2023, with Mr Piero Fassino (Italy, SOC) in the Chair:

- on Tuesday, 10 October 2023 at 10.30 am, as regards:
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by France (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Yelyzaveta Yasko, Ukraine, EPP/CD and Ms Fiona O'Loughlin, Ireland, ALDE): took note that no amendments had been tabled to the draft resolution;
- Clarification of the procedure for the selection of the periodic monitoring reports in 2023: heard a statement by the Chair and considered a revised procedure; agreed to proceed to the selection of the periodic monitoring reports in 2023 at the next meeting on the basis of the shortlist presented by the Chair for the previous meeting of 13 September 2023;
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Bosnia and Herzegovina (*Co-rapporteurs: Mr Zsolt Németh, Hungary, EC/DA and Mr Aleksandar Nikoloski, North Macedonia, EPP/CD*): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteur, Mr Nikoloski, of the fact-finding visit to Bosnia and Herzegovina (27-29 September 2023);
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Serbia (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Eva Decroix, Czech Republic, EC/DA and Mr Axel Schäfer, Germany, SOC): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteur, Mr Schäfer, of his fact-finding visit to Serbia (2-4 October 2023);
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Albania (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Asim Mollazada, Azerbaijan, EC/DA and Mr Ionuţ-Marian Stroe, Romania, EPP/CD): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteur, Mr Stroe, of the fact-finding visit to Albania (25-28 September 2023);
- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria** (*Co-rapporteurs: Ms Thórhildur Sunna Ævarsdóttir, Iceland, SOC and Ms Deborah Bergamini, Italy, EPP/CD*): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteur, Ms Ævarsdóttir, of the fact-finding visit to Bulgaria (18-19 September 2023);
- World Forum for Democracy on "Democracy= peace?" (Strasbourg, 6-8 November 2023): took note of the concept note and made a call for candidates to be appointed to the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the Forum;
- **Authorisation of fact-finding visits:** authorised the co-rapporteurs for Bulgaria to conduct a fact-finding visit to Brussels, subject to the availability of financial resources;
- Other business: nominated Ms Valentina Grippo (Italy, ALDE), Mr Joseph O'Reilly (Ireland, EPP/CD), Mr George Papandreou (Greece, SOC) and Ms Liliana Tanguy (France, ALDE) to sit on the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau to participate in the Conference on "Money and Democracy an Uneasy Relationship" (Cologne, 7-8 December 2023);

- Next meetings: confirmed its next meetings as follows:
 - o Rome, 4-5 December 2023;
 - o Strasbourg, 22-26 January 2024 [during the Assembly part-session];
 - Strasbourg, 22-26 April 2024 [during the Assembly part-session];
 - Strasbourg, 24-28 June 2024 [during the Assembly part-session];
 - o Strasbourg, 30 September-4 October 2024 [during the Assembly part-session].
- on Thursday, 12 October 2023 at 8.30 am, as regards:
- Human rights and humanitarian situation of Karabakh Armenians and international obligations of Azerbaijan [public meeting]: held a joint hearing with the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights and the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons, with the participation of Mr Thomas de Waal, Senior Fellow, Carnegie Europe, London, United Kingdom (online), Mr Andreas Wissner, Representative, UNHCR Representation to the European Institutions in Strasbourg and Prof. Dr. Björn Schiffbauer, Professor of Public Law, European and International Law, University of Rostock, Germany.

Agnieszka Nachilo, Bas Klein, Agnieszka Szklanna, Matthieu Monin

Copy:

Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe