

SECRETARIAT **AS/Mon (2023) CB 03**28 April 2023

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

Synopsis

of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 26 and 27 April 2023

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Strasbourg on 26 and 27 April 2023 in camera, with Mr Piero Fassino (Italy, SOC) in the Chair:

- on Wednesday, 26 April 2023 at 10.30 am, as regards:
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Serbia (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Eva Decroix, Czech Republic, EC/DA and Mr Axel Schäfer, Germany, SOC): held an exchange of views on the legal situation and the functioning of institutions with Mr Oliver Kask, Substitute Member of the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) in respect of Estonia (online);
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Ukraine (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Alfred Heer, Switzerland, ALDE and Mr Birgir Thórarinsson, Iceland, EPP/CD): agreed to request a Venice Commission opinion on the draft law on "Amending some legislative Acts of Ukraine that limit the participation in State power for individuals associated with political parties, whose activities are prohibited in accordance with the Law";
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Claude Kern, France, ALDE and Ms Edite Estrela, Portugal, SOC): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteurs of their fact-finding visit to Tbilisi (27-29 March 2023);
- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria** (*Co-rapporteurs: Ms Thórhildur Sunna Ævarsdóttir, Iceland, SOC and Ms María Valentina Martínez Ferro, Spain, EPP/CD*): held an exchange of views on recent developments following the early parliamentary elections (2 April 2023) with Mr Andrej Hunko (Germany, UEL), Chairperson of the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau;
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Poland (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Azadeh Rojhan, Sweden, SOC and Mr Pieter Omtzigt, Netherlands, EPP/CD): heard an oral report by the co-rapporteur of the fact-finding visit to Warsaw (13-15 March 2023);
- on Thursday, 27 April 2023 at 10.30 am, as regards:
- Joint hearing on "Threats to life and safety of journalists and Human rights defenders in Azerbaijan" (Rapporteur: Ms Hannah Bardell, United Kingdom, NR; Rapporteur for opinion (AS/Cult): Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC): held a joint hearing with the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights and the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, with the participation of Ms Arzu Geybullayeva, Journalist, Mr Ulvi Hasanli, Founder and Executive Director of AbzasMedia and Ms Jeanne Cavelier, Head of Eastern Europe & Central Asia Desk, Reporters Without Borders;

- on Thursday, 27 April 2023 at 11.30 am, as regards:
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by San Marino (Corapporteurs: Mr Andrej Hunko, Germany, UEL and Mr Joseph O'Reilly, Ireland, EPP/CD): took note that no amendments had been tabled to the draft resolution;
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by France (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Yelysaveta Yasko, Ukraine, EPP/CD and Ms Fiona O'Loughlin, Ireland, ALDE): considered a preliminary draft report and agreed to send it to the French authorities for comments, to be submitted by 9 June 2023 at the latest; agreed to request Venice Commission opinions on: 1/ Article 65 of the French Constitution on the composition of the Superior Council of Magistrates and Ordinance No. 58-1270 of 22 December 1958 establishing an organic law on the status of the judiciary, in so far as it concerns nominations, mutations, promotions and disciplinary procedures of magistrates, and 2/ Article 49 of the French Constitution, and established practice, allowing the government to force the adoption of a bill without a vote of the National Assembly unless the latter votes a motion of no-confidence;
- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Montenegro** (*Co-rapporteurs: Mr Damien Cottier, Switzerland, ALDE and Mr Nicos Tornaritis, Cyprus, EPP/CD*): held an exchange of views on recent developments following the presidential election (19 March 2023 first round and 2 April 2023 second round);
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by the Republic of Moldova (*Co-rapporteurs: Mr Pierre-Alain Fridez, Switzerland, SOC and ...*): postponed until the next meeting the appointment of a co-rapporteur to replace Ms Inese Lībiṇa-Egnere (Latvia, EPP/CD);
- World Forum for Democracy on "Democracy= peace?" (Strasbourg, 6-8 November 2023): took note of the concept note and made a call for candidates to be appointed to the *ad hoc* Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the Forum;
- Authorisation of fact-finding visits: authorised the co-rapporteurs for Albania and Georgia to conduct
 a fact-finding visit to the countries under their respective responsibilities, subject to the availability of
 financial resources;
- **Other business**: Post-monitoring dialogue with North Macedonia (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Sibel Arslan, Switzerland, SOC and...): made a call for candidates to replace Ms Ria Oomen-Ruijten (Netherlands, EPP/CD);
- **Next meetings**: confirmed its next meetings as follows:
 - o Paris, 30 May 2023;
 - Strasbourg, during the third part-session 2023 of the Assembly (19-23 June);
 - 14 September 2023 (place to be confirmed);
 - Strasbourg, during the fourth part-session 2023 of the Assembly (9-13 October);
 - Paris, 13 December 2023 (Council of Europe office).

Agnieszka Nachilo, Bas Klein, Agnieszka Szklanna, Matthieu Monin

Copy:

Secretary General of the Assembly

Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe