



SECRETARIAT

**AS/Mon (2024) CB 02** 8 March 2024

To the members of the Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

## **Synopsis**

of the meeting held in Paris on 6 March 2024

The Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee), meeting in Paris on 6 March 2024 in camera, with first Mr Claude Kern (France, ALDE), Second Vice-Chairperson, and then Ms Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica (Latvia, EPP/CD) in the Chair:

- on Wednesday, 6 March 2024 at 09:30, as regards:
- **Election of the Chairperson of the Committee**: elected Ms Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica (Latvia, EPP/CD), Chairperson by acclamation;
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Albania (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Ionuţ-Marian Stroe, Romania, EPP/CD and...): postponed the appointment of a co-rapporteur until the next meeting; considered a draft report and adopted unanimously a draft resolution;
- **Post-monitoring dialogue with Bulgaria** (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Thórhildur Sunna Ævarsdóttir, Iceland, SOC and Ms Deborah Bergamini, Italy, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteur, Ms Ævarsdóttir, on the fact-finding visit to Brussels (EU Institutions 12 February 2024); considered a draft report and adopted unanimously a draft resolution;
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Bosnia and Herzegovina (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Zsolt Németh, Hungary, EC/DA and Mr Aleksandar Nikoloski, North Macedonia, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views with Mr Christian Schmidt, High Representative for Bosnia and Herzegovina (online); heard a statement by the co-rapporteur, Mr Németh, on his visit to the EU institutions in Brussels (5 March 2024);
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by the Republic of Moldova (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Pierre-Alain Fridez, Switzerland, SOC and Ms Zalanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, Latvia, EPP/CD): heard a statement by the co-rapporteurs on their fact-finding visit to the Republic of Moldova (4-7 February 2024);
- on Wednesday, 6 March 2024 at 14:30, as regards:
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Armenia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Kimmo Kiljunen, Finland, SOC and Ms Boriana Åberg, Sweden, EPP/CD): considered a preliminary draft report and agreed to send it to the authorities of Armenia for comments, to be submitted by 19 April 2024 latest;
- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Serbia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Axel Schäfer, Germany, SOC and Mr Thibaut François, France EC/DA): held an exchange of views on recent developments in the country and agreed to hold, at a next meeting, a hearing on the post-electoral situation in Serbia;

- The honouring of obligations and commitments by Georgia (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Claude Kern, France, ALDE and Ms Edite Estrela, Portugal, SOC): agreed to request to the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) an opinion on the amendments to the Election Code and to the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament of Georgia as adopted by the Georgian parliament on 20 February 2024;
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by Poland (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Azadeh Rojhan, Sweden, SOC and Mr Pieter Omtzigt, Netherlands, EPP/CD): agreed to request to the European Commission for Democracy through Law (Venice Commission) an opinion on the draft law amending the Law on the National Council of the Judiciary;
- Possible constitution of a Sub-Committee: heard a statement by the Chairperson of the Committee and held an exchange of views; asked the chairperson to prepare a draft decision on the establishment of a subcommittee, including terms of reference and composition, on "strengthening early warning capacities of the Monitoring Committee and the Council of Europe";
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by Greece (periodic monitoring report) (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Laura Castel, Spain, UEL and Mr Didier Marie, France, SOC): after hearing their declarations of absence of conflict of interest, appointed Ms Laura Castel (Spain, UEL) and Mr Didier Marie (France, SOC), as co-rapporteurs;
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by Spain (periodic monitoring report) (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Elvira Kovács, Serbia, EPP/CD and Mr Caspar van den Berg, Netherlands, ALDE): after hearing their declarations of absence of conflict of interest, appointed Ms Elvira Kovács (Serbia, EPP/CD) and Mr Caspar van den Berg (Netherlands, ALDE) as corapporteurs;
- The honouring of membership obligations to the Council of Europe by Sweden (periodic monitoring report) (Co-rapporteurs: Ms Yelizaveta Yasko, Ukraine, EPP/CD and Ms Anne Stambach-Terrenoir, France, UEL): after hearing their declarations of absence of conflict of interest, appointed Ms Yelizaveta Yasko (Ukraine, EPP/CD) and Ms Anne Stambach-Terrenoir (France UEL), as co-rapporteurs;
- **Interpretative agreement on conflicts of interests**: the Committee considered that membership of a friendship association on a country for report could be incompatible with the position of co-rapporteur on that country and expected that, if relevant, these functions would be suspended during the period of rapporteurship;
- Václav Havel Human Rights Prize: took note of the details concerning submission of candidates for the 2024 Prize;
- Vigdís Prize for Women's Empowerment: took note of the details concerning the submission of candidates for the 2024 Vigdís Prize for Women's Empowerment;
- **Authorisation of fact-finding visits:** authorised the co-rapporteurs for the Republic of Moldova to conduct a fact-finding visit, subject to the availability of financial resources;
- Other business: The honouring of obligations and commitments by Türkiye (Co-rapporteurs: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC and Ms Jill Mortimer, United Kingdom, EC/DA): heard a statement by the co-rapporteur, Mr Schennach, and agreed to hold, at the next meeting, an exchange of views on the honouring of obligations and commitments by Türkiye;
- Next meetings: confirmed its next meetings as follows:
  - Strasbourg, 15-19 April 2024 [during the Assembly part-session]
  - o Paris, 22 May 2024
  - Strasbourg, 24-28 June 2024 [during the Assembly part-session]
  - o Paris, 10 September 2024
  - Strasbourg, 30 September-4 October 2024 [during the Assembly part-session]
  - o Paris, 12 December 2024

Agnieszka Nachilo, Bas Klein, Agnieszka Szklanna, Matthieu Monin

Copy:

Secretary General of the Assembly

Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

**Director of Communication** 

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe