



SECRETARIAT

AS/Ega (2023) CB 06 19 September 2023

To the members of the Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination

Synopsis

of the meeting held in Paris on 14 and 15 September 2023

The Committee on Equality and Non-Discrimination, meeting in Paris on 14 and 15 September 2023, with Ms Mariia Mezentseva (Ukraine, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair:

- Thursday 14 September, from 2.30 to 6pm, as regards:
- **Opening statement by the President of the Assembly**: heard an opening statement by the President of the Assembly;
- **Preventing and combating violence against women with disabilities** (*Rapporteur: Ms Béatrice Fresko Rolfo, Monaco, ALDE*): approved a draft report and unanimously adopted a draft resolution as amended;
- Institutional racism of law enforcement authorities against Roma and Travellers (*Rapporteur: Mr Jean-Pierre Grin, Switzerland, ALDE*): considered a preliminary draft report;
- **Appointment of rapporteurs**: appointed by acclamation:
 - Mr Fourat Ben Chikha (Belgium, SOC) as rapporteur for report on Protecting the human rights and improving the lives of sex workers and victims of sexual exploitation to replace Ms Margreet de Boer (Netherlands, SOC) following her departure from the Assembly;
 - Ms Béatrice Fresko-Rolfo (Monaco, ALDE) as rapporteur for opinion on the "Statutory Opinion on the application for membership set out in the letter of 12 May 2022 addressed to the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, in line with Statutory Resolution (51) 30", decision of the Bureau (Rapporteur AS/Pol for report: Ms Theodora Bakoyannis, Greece, EPP/CD; Rapporteur AS/Jur for opinion: Ms Azadeh Rojhan, Sweden, SOC);

and heard their declarations of absence of conflict of interest;

- **Protecting women human rights defenders and people who defend women's rights in Europe** (*Rapporteur: Ms Petra Bayr,Austria, SOC*): held a hearing with the participation of:
 - Mr Hugo Gabbero, Director of the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders, International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH), Paris;
 - Ms Sarah Durocher, President, *Planning familial*, France;
 - Ms Noémie Gardais, International Advocacy Officer, Planning familial, France.

- Friday, 15 September, from 9 am to 3.30pm, as regards:
- **Gender-based violence the question of consent**: held a joint hearing with the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence, with the participation of:
 - Ms Catherine Le Magueresse, Associate Researcher, Institute of Legal and Philosophical Sciences of the Sorbonne (ISJPS - Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne);
 - Ms Sabrina Wittmann, Lawyer, Violence against Women Department, GREVIO, Council of Europe Directorate General of Democracy and Human Dignity (DGII);
 - Ms Manon Garcia, Professor of Practical Philosophy at the Freie Universität, Berlin (online);
 - Ms Yvonne Woods, Campaigns and Communications Manager, Dublin Rape Crisis Centre;
- Appointment of a General Rapporteur on violence against women: appointed by acclamation Ms Etilda Gjonaj (Albania, SOC) as General Rapporteur and heard her declaration of absence of conflict of interest;
- **Overcoming age-based discrimination against older persons** (*Rapporteur: Ms Andrea Eder-Gitschthaler, Austria, PPE/DC*): considered an introductory memorandum;
- Racism and intolerance in Europe: held an exchange of views with Ms Maria Daniella Marouda, Chair of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) (*online*);
- Women in the economy: employment, entrepreneurship and gender budgeting (*Rapporteur: Ms Sena Nur Çelik, Türkiye, NR*): took note of replies to a questionnaire and held an exchange of views with Ms Valerie Frey, Senior Economist, Social Policy Division, Directorate for Employment, Labour and Social Affairs, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD);
- Activities of the Parliamentary Network Women Free from Violence, the No Hate Parliamentary Alliance and the Parliamentary Platform for the rights of LGBTI people in Europe: heard communications from the General Rapporteurs and the Chairperson of the Committee;
- Vigdís Prize for Women's Empowerment: held an exchange of views on its role in proposing three independent members to compose the Selection Panel of the Prize, to be transmitted to the Bureau of the Assembly during the October part-session 2023;
- **Appointment of representatives** (*subject to the availability of funds*): appointed:
 - Ms Etilda Gjonaj (Albania, SOC) to participate in the 31st meeting of the Group of Experts on Action against Violence against Women and Domestic Violence (GREVIO), to be held on 23-26 October 2023 in Strasbourg;
 - Ms Béatrice Fresko-Rolfo (Monaco, ALDE) to participate in the ILGA-Europe Annual Conference, to be held on 25-28 October 2023 in Ljubljana, Slovenia;
- World Forum for Democracy (Strasbourg, 6-8 November 2023): appointed Ms Mariia Mezentseva (Ukraine, EPP/CD) as member to the Ad Hoc Committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the World Forum for Democracy, in addition to the members previously appointed by the committee (*at no cost to the Assembly*);
- Reporting back: heard reports by Ms Petra Bayr (Austria, SOC) for her participation in the 92nd plenary meeting of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI), on 27-30 June in Strasbourg and in the 7th plenary meeting of the Council of Europe Steering Committee on Anti-Discrimination, Diversity and Inclusion (CDADI), on 28 June 2023 in Strasbourg;
- **Next meetings**: confirmed its next meetings as follows:

Committee

- Strasbourg, during the fourth part-session 2023 of the Assembly (9-13 October);
- Paris, 7 December 2023 (Council of Europe Office);

Penelope Denu, Sarah Burton, Élodie Fischer

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe