

SECRETARIAT

AS/Cult (2023) CB 04 7 June 2023

To the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Synopsis of the meeting held in London on 1 June 2023

The Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, meeting in London on Thursday 1 June 2023 from 9 am to 12.30 pm and 2 pm to 5 pm, with Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE) and Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC) in the chair,

From 9 am to 12.30 pm, as regards:

- Opening of the meeting:

heard the statements of:

- Mr John Howell, Chairperson of the delegation of the United Kingdom to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)
- Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk, Chairperson of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media
- Minutes: approved minutes of the meeting held during the second part-session on 25 and 27 April 2023;
- Protecting human rights in and through sport: obligations and shared responsibilities (Rapporteur: Mr Kim Valentin, Denmark, ALDE): held a public hearing with the participation of: Ms Emily Logan, Commissioner, Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission, Ireland; Ms Olivia Jasriel, founder of the Olivia Jasriel Foundation Athletes Against Child Abuse, South Africa; Mr Patrice Evra, former captain of Manchester United and the French national team, abuse survivor and campaigner against abuse in sport and beyond; Ms Maud de Boer Buquicchio, Chair of the NGO "End child prostitution, child pornography and trafficking of children for sexual purposes" (ECPAT); Ms Joyce Cook, Senior Advisor to the President's Office (Safe Sport Entity), FIFA; Ms Kirsty Burrows, Senior Manager, Safe Sport Unit, International Olympic Committee (IOC); Mr Simon Mason, Head of Sport Strategy Department for Culture, Media & Sport, United Kingdom; Mr Alasdair Bell, Deputy Secretary General, FIFA; Ms Ashley Ehlert, Deputy Secretary General and Legal Director, International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF); Mr Kit McConnell, Sports Director, International Olympic Committee (IOC); and Mr Alexandre Husting, Chair of the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Sport (EPAS) Governing Board, Council of Europe;

From 2 pm to 5 pm, as regards:

Risks and opportunities of the Metaverse (Rapporteur: Mr Andi-Lucian Cristea, Romania, SOC): held a public hearing with the participation of Ms Monique Morrow, Chair of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Global Extended Reality Working Group, and of IEEE "Standard for Ethically Aligned Design and Operation of Metaverse Systems", Austria (video message); Ms Irene Kitsara, European Standardization Initiatives Director, IEEE, Austria; and Mr Edward Lewin, Vice-President Government and Public Affairs, the LEGO group, United Kingdom;

- Countering SLAPPs: an imperative for a democratic society (Rapporteur: Mr Stefan Schennach, Austria, SOC): considered a preliminary draft report and held a hearing with the participation of Ms Beatriz Brown, Policy Lead, Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation, Ministry of Justice, United Kingdom;
- Committee work programme

Appointment of new rapporteurs: appointed:

- Mr Kim Valentin (Denmark, ALDE) rapporteur on "Protecting human rights in and through sport: obligations and shared responsibilities" and heard his declaration of absence of conflict of interests;
- Ms Linda Hofstad Helleland (Norway, EPP/CD) rapporteur on "War of aggression against Ukraine –
 Participation of Russian and Belarusian athletes in the Paris 2024 Olympics?", subject to a decision by
 the Assembly to hold an urgent debate on this subject, and heard her declaration of absence of
 conflict of interests;

Declaration of absence of conflict of interests: heard the declaration of absence of conflict of interests from Ms Tonia Antoniazzi (United Kingdom, SOC) rapporteur on "Propaganda and freedom of speech in Europe";

Appointment of representatives for forthcoming events:

proposed:

- Ms Valentina Grippo (Italy, ALDE) and Ms Eka Sepashvili (Georgia, EC/DA) as members of the ad hoc committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in a Side Event "Decent work: building a sustainable future" to the High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (18 July 2023, United Nations Headquarters, New York);
- Mr Mogens Jensen (Denmark, SOC), Mr Constantinos Efstathiou (Cyprus, SOC), Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC), Mr Kim Valentin (Denmark, ALDE), Ms Inka Hopsu (Finland, SOC), and Mr Andrius Vyšniauskas (Lithuania, EPP/CD) as members of the ad hoc committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the launch of the Council of Europe Campaign for Safety of Journalists (5-6 October 2023, Riga);
- Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE) Mr Rafael Huseynov (Azerbaijan, ALDE) and Mr Stefan Schennach (Austria, SOC) and Ms Eka Sepashvili (Georgia, EC/DA) to the ad hoc committee of the Bureau of the Assembly to participate in the World Forum for Democracy on "Democracy = Peace?" (6-8 November 2023, Strasbourg);
- Composition of the sub-committees: approved the following change:

Sub-committee on Education, Youth and Sport

- Ms Linda Hofstad Helleland (Norway, EPP/CD), becomes a full member of the Sub-committee on Education, Youth and Sport.
- **Other business**: heard from Mr Mogens Jensen's about the difficulties in accessing meeting documents via PACE-apps; urged the secretariat to inform the Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly of this issue; and took note of Mr Jensen's request, supported by other members, that the secretariat send meeting documents to the committee members by e-mail if possible;

Next meeting:

decided on the forthcoming meetings of the committee as follows:

3rd part-session 2023 (19-23 June 2023)

4th part-session 2023 (9-13 October 2023)

4-5 December 2023, Paris

Roberto Fasino, Silvia Arzilli

Secretary General of the Assembly cc:

Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly

Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe