



SECRETARIAT

AS/Mig (2024) CB 05 28 June 2024

# To the members of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

# Synopsis of the meetings held in Strasbourg on 25 and 27 June 2024

The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons, meeting in Strasbourg, on 25 and 27 June 2024:

- **on Tuesday 25 June 2024**, **from 08:30 to 09:15**, with Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:
- Held an exchange of views: with the participation of Mr Hans Leijtens, Executive Director of Frontex;
- **on Tuesday 25 June 2024, from 14:00 to 15:30**, with Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:
- Ensuring human rights compliant asylum procedures: Rapporteur: Ms Stephanie Krisper, Austria, ALDE: took position on 2 amendments which had been tabled to the draft resolution;
- Saving migrants' lives at sea and protecting their human rights: Rapporteur: Mr Paulo Pisco, Portugal, SOC: considered a draft outline, proposed at the initiative of the rapporteur, and approved a fact-finding visit in the context of the preparation of the report (date and place to be confirmed, subject to the authorisation of the Bureau of the Assembly and availability of funds); held an exchange of views with Mr Christian Mommers, Advisor to the Commissioner for Human Rights at Council of Europe;

#### – Work programme:

- Authorisation by the Committee: authorised Mr Julian Pahlke (Germany, SOC), in his capacity as PACE Rapporteur on "Missing migrants, refugees and asylum seekers: a call to clarify their fate", to meet with Interpol General Secretariat on 8 July 2024 (*at no cost to the Assembly*);
- Declaration of absence of conflict of interest: heard a declaration of absence of conflict of interest by Mr Petri Honkonen (Finland, ALDE), rapporteur for report on" Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Migration";
- Appointment of representatives for forthcoming events: called for candidates to participate in the in the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Roma and Sinti (Auschwitz-Birkenau, Poland, 2 August 2024) and appointed Ms Sandra Zampa (Italy, SOC), Mr Pierre-Alain Fridez (Switzerland, SOC) and Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA);
- **on Thursday 25 June 2024, from 08:30 to 10:00** with Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:
- An urgent call to Europe and its partners: envisioning immediate and long-term policy solutions in support of the displaced people of Ukraine: Rapporteur: Ms Lise Selnes, Norway, SOC: took

position on 8 amendments which had been tabled to the draft resolution and heard a brief report by Ms Larysa Bilozir (Ukraine, ALDE) on the visit of the Ad hoc Committee of the Bureau on the situation of the children of Ukraine to Geneva on 13 June 2024;

- Post-conflict time: defusing ticking time bombs for a safe return of displaced populations: Rapporteur: Mr Domagoj Hajduković, Croatia, SOC: took position on 4 amendments which had been tabled to the draft resolution;
- Follow-up to Resolution 2525 (2024) "The theme of migration and asylum in election campaigns and its consequences on the reception of migrants and their rights": held an exchange of views with Mr Wolfram Bechtel, Head of Division, Steering Committee on Anti-Discrimination, Diversity and Inclusion; welcomed the decision made by the Council for Democratic Elections, at its 80<sup>th</sup> meeting, to ask the Venice Commission to carry out a study on circumscribing freedom of expression and banning hate speech in the context of election campaigns in the light of the case-law of the European Court of Human Rights and the standards drawn up by Council of Europe bodies, notably Committee of Ministers recommendations, in the area of combating hate speech and hate crimes, and on the promotion of pluralism in the expression of opinions in a democratic environment;
- **on Thursday 25 June 2024, from 14:00 to 15:30** with Mr Oleksii Goncharenko (Ukraine, EC/DA), Chairperson, in the Chair, as regards:
- Missing migrants, refugees, and asylum seekers: a call to clarify their fate: Rapporteur: Mr Julian Pahlke, Germany, SOC: unanimously approved a draft report, a draft resolution and a draft recommendation;
- A shared European approach to address migrant smuggling: Rapporteur: Lord Simon Russell, United Kingdom, EC/DA: unanimously approved a draft report, a draft resolution and a draft recommendation, as amended;
  - Ad hoc Sub-Committee to carry out a fact-finding visit to Sicily (Italy): approved the revised list of members of the ad hoc Sub-Committee (see appendix);
- **Next meetings**: took note of its next meetings as follows:
  - Strasbourg, during the fourth part-session 2024 of the Assembly (30 September 4 October);
  - 17 and 18 October 2024 (Ljubljana, Slovenia);
  - Paris, 9 and 10 (morning) December 2024 (Council of Europe Office and Museum of History of Immigration).

Tatiana Termacic, Angela Garabagiu, Gaël Martin-Micallef, Marie Martin

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly Director and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

## APPENDIX / ANNEXE

### Ad hoc Sub-Committee to carry out a fact-finding visit to Sicily (Italy) (16-19 September 2024) Sous-commission ad hoc chargée d'effectuer une visite d'information en Sicile (Italie) (16-19 septembre 2024)

#### List of members / Liste des membres

### Chairperson: Mr Paul GAVAN (Ireland, UEL)

#### Members:

- 1. Ms Sena Nur ÇELİK KANAT (Türkiye, NR)
- 2. Mr Emmanuel FERNANDES (France, UEL)
- 3. Mr Paul GAVAN (Ireland, UEL)
- 4. Mr Oleksii GONCHARENKO (Ukraine, EC/DA)
- 5. Ms Arusyak JULHAKYAN (Armenia, EPP/CD)
- Ms Zdravka BUŠIĆ (Croatia, EPP/CD)
  Ms Nađa LAKOVIĆ (Montenegro, ALDE)
- 8. Mr Paulo PISCO (Portugal, SOC)
- 9. Mr Marco SCURRIA (Italy, EC/DA)
- 10. Ms Tamara VONTA (Slovenia, ALDE)
- 11. Ms Sandra ZAMPA (Italy, SOC)

Alternate members:

- 1. Mr Thibaut FRANÇOIS (France, EC/DA)
- 2. Ms Kate OSAMOR (United Kingdom, SOC)
- 3. Mr Petri HONKONEN (Finland, ALDE)
- 4. Mr Birgir THÓRARINSSON (Iceland, EPP/CD)
- 5. ZZ...