

SECRETARIAT

AS/Mig (2023) CB 06 25 September 2023

To the members of the Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons

Synopsis of the meeting held in Reykjavík (Iceland) on 21 and 22 September 2023

The Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons, meeting in Reykjavik (Iceland) on 21-22 September 2023 with Mr Theodoros Rousopoulos (Greece, EPP/CD), Chairperson, in the Chair,

- on Thursday 21 September 2023, from 09:30 to 13:00 and from 14:30 to 17:30, as regards:
- Welcome address: heard a welcome address by Mr Birgir Ármannsson, Speaker of Althingi,
 Parliament of Iceland and by Ms Guðrún Hafsteinsdóttir, Minister of Justice of Iceland;
- The theme of migration and asylum in the election campaign and the consequences on the welcoming and rights of migrants (Rapporteur: Mr Pierre-Alain Fridez, Switzerland, SOC): considered a draft report and adopted a draft resolution;
- Ensuring human rights compliant asylum procedures (Rapporteur: Ms Stephanie Krisper, Austria, ALDE): heard the Rapporteur on the importance of basing her report on official data on asylum in Europe, and took note of her request to members of the Committee to enquire on the possibility for member States to address her enquiry sent to the European Centre for Parliamentary Research and Documentation (ECPRD); held an exchange of views with the participation of Ms Claudia Ashanie Wilson, Attorney, Claudia & Partners Legal Services, Iceland and Ms Catherine Woollard, Director of the European Council on Refugees and Exiles (ECRE), a network of NGOs with its headquarter located in Belgium;
- **The humanitarian crisis emerging for Afghanistan and Afghan refugees** (Rapporteur: Mr Birgir Thórarinsson, Iceland, EPP/CD): considered a draft report and adopted a draft resolution;
- The use of explosive weapons as a major driver of justified displacement (Rapporteur: Mr Domagoj Hajduković, Croatia, SOC): considered a draft outline and held an exchange of views with the participation of Ms Rachel Bolton-King, Associate Professor and Courses Manager of Forensic Science, Nottingham Trent University, Editor In Chief of Science & Justice journal for the Chartered Society of Forensic Science, United Kingdom and Mr Christian De Cock, Visiting Professor of Law, Free University of Brussels and University of Ghent, Retired colonel, Former senior legal advisor of the EU's military-strategic headquarter in Brussels (MPCC), Belgium;

– Work programme:

- Fourth part-session 2023 of the Assembly: decided to ask the Bureau to hold a current affairs debate on "Migrants' death at sea"; took note of the opinions expressed in favour of finding a title which would help reflect on means to prevent deaths at sea;
- Authorisations by the Committee: authorised:
 - Mr Julian Pahlke (Germany, SOC), Rapporteur on "Missing migrants, refugees and asylum seekers – a call to clarify their fate", to carry out a fact-finding visit to Greece (dates t.b.c., and subject to availability of the funds);

AS/Mig (2023) CB 06

Ms Nigar Arpadarai (Azerbaijan, EC/DA), Rapporteur for follow-up of the Resolution 2503 (2023) on "Social inclusion of migrants, refugees and internally displaced persons through sport", to participate in the Diversity Conference on the inclusion of child migrants and refugees in and through sport, organised by the Liechtenstein Presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (28-29 November 2023, Liechtenstein) (at no cost to the Assembly) (t.b.c);

Reference for information:

- Complicity of the Republic of Belarus in the illegal transfer of Ukrainian children from the occupied territories of Ukraine [<u>Doc. 15769</u>]: took note of the reference sent by the Bureau to the committee for information;
- Ad hoc Sub-Committee to carry out a fact-finding visit to Calais (France) (subject to availability of funds): approved the revised list of members of the ad hoc Sub-Committee (see Appendix) and appointed Ms Stephanie Krisper (Austria, ADLE) as the Chairperson of the ad hoc Sub-Committee;
- Reply by the Committee of Ministers: considered the reply by the Committee of Ministers to Assembly Recommendation 2248 (2023) "European solidarity in the context of asylum and international protection" and heard a statement by the Chairperson;
- Composition of the Sub-Committees: approved the following changes:

Sub-Committee on Migrant Smuggling and Trafficking in Human Beings:

 Mr Birgir Thórarinsson (Iceland, EPP/CD) and Mr Emmanuel Fernandes (France, UEL) to become full members;

Other business:

- heard Ms Nigar Arpadarai (Azerbaijan, EC/DA), concerning the recent developments in Nagorno-Karabakhl and the concerns uttered by some members regarding the humanitarian situation in the region;
- Next meetings: took note of its next meetings as follows:
 - Strasbourg, during the fourth part-session 2023 of the Assembly (9-13 October);
 - Paris, 8 December 2023 (Council of Europe Office).
 - on Friday, 22 September 2023, from 09:30 to 11:30, as regards:
- Round table "From Reykjavík onwards: a new social contract for the integration of refugees and migrants": held a panel discussion with the participation of: Mr Birgir Thórarinsson, PACE member, member of the Althingi Parliament of Iceland, Ms Joanna Marcinkowska, Project manager, Human Rights and Democracy Office (Interculturalism & Inclusion unit), Municipality of Reykjavík, a coordinator of the Intercultural cities Programme (ICC) of the Council of Europe, Mr Hussain Merzaye, refugee and member of the Afghan community in Iceland, Ms Nína Helgadóttir, Head of Refugee Unit at the Icelandic Red Cross, Ms Mina Sharifi, Afghan refugee, Holder of the European Qualification Passport for Refugees (EQPR), Student at the Faculty of Computer Science of University of Turin, Italy and moderated by Louise Barton Director of Committees, Human Dignity and Sustainable Development Directorate, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

Tatiana Termacic, Angela Garabagiu, Gaël Martin-Micallef, Marie Martin

cc: Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly

Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly

Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations

Secretary General of the Congress

Secretary to the Committee of Ministers

Directors General

Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe

Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights

Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

Appendix

Committee on Migration, Refugees and Displaced Persons Commission des migrations, des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées

Ad hoc Sub-Committee to carry out a fact-finding visit to Calais (France) (subject to the authorisation by the Bureau) (date – tbc)

Sous-commission ad hoc chargée d'effectuer une visite d'information à Calais (France) (sous réserve de l'autorisation du Bureau) (date - à confirmer)

Revised list of members / Liste révisée des membres¹

- 1. Mr Jeremy CORBYN (United Kingdom, SOC)
- 2. Mr Emmanuel FERNANDES (France, UEL)
- 3. Mr Pierre-Alain FRIDEZ (Switzerland, SOC)
- 4. Mr Paul GAVAN (Ireland, UEL)
- 5. Ms Arusyak JULHAKYAN (Armenia, EPP/CD)
- 6. Ms Stephanie KRISPER (Austria, ALDE)
- 7. Ms Kate OSAMOR (United Kingdom, SOC)
- 8. Mr Marco SCURRIA (Italy, EC/DA)
- 9. Ms Sandra ZAMPA (Italy, SOC)

¹ Subject to approval by the Committee (change in bold) / Pour approbation par la commission (modification en gras).