



EUROPEAN COMMITTEE OF SOCIAL RIGHTS COMITE EUROPEEN DES DROITS SOCIAUX

SYNOPSIS

EUROPEAN COMMITTEE OF SOCIAL RIGHTS (ECSR), 342ND SESSION

Date 01/07/2024 – 04/07/2024

Activity Type Monitoring

Location Vilnius, Lithuania

Directorate (Service) DGI Human Rights and Rule of Law (Department of Social Rights)

The European Committee of Social Rights is established by the European Social Charter. It is composed of 15 independent experts. It works on two specific objectives: treating collective Origin/DG Remarks complaints and examining national reports on the application of the European Social Charter with a view to rule on the conformity of national situations under the Charter.

- to examine the pending collective complaints;
- to hold a meeting with the Governmental Committee;

Objective(s)

- to comment on Parliamentary Assembly recommendations;
- to participate in the High-Level Conference, Vilnius.
- 1) The Committee adopted a decision on admissibility in the following complaint:

Output

European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC), Centrale Générale des Syndicats Libéraux de Belgique (CGSLB), Confédération des Syndicats chrétiens de Belgique (CSC) and Fédération Générale du Travail de Belgique (FGTB) v. Belgium Complaint No. 237/2024

- 2) The Committee adopted a decision on the merits in the following complaints:
 - European Roma Rights Centre (ERRC) v. Belgium Complaint No. 195/2020
 - European Federation of National Organisations working with the Homeless (FEANTSA) v. Czech Republic Complaint No. 191/2020
- 3) The Committee held a meeting with the Governmental Committee.
- 4) The Committee adopted comments on two Parliamentary Assembly recommendations.

The Committee instructed the Secretariat:

- to follow the collective complaints procedure with the Rapporteurs for the pending complaints;
- to transmit to the parties the decisions on admissibility and to make them public;

Conclusions/ Follow Up

- to transmit to the parties and to the Committee of Ministers the decision on the merits in accordance with the usual procedure:
- to transmit the comments on the two Parliamentary Assembly recommendations to the Committee of Ministers.

Aoife NOLAN, President Eliane CHEMLA, Vice-President Tatiana PUIU, Vice-President Kristīne DUPATE, General Rapporteur József HAJDÚ

Yusuf BALCI

Participants

Paul RIETJENS George THEODOSIS Mario VINKOVIC

Karin Møhl LARSEN

Miriam KULLMANN

Carmen SALCEDO BELTRÁN

Franz MARHOLD Alla FEDOROVA Grega STRBAN

Secretariat CoE

Jan MALINOWSKI, Executive Secretary Henrik KRISTENSEN, Deputy Executive Secretary