

CDDH(2021)05 26/05/2021

STEERING COMMITTEE FOR HUMAN RIGHTS (CDDH)

TERMS OF REFERENCE

Drafting Committee on Trafficking for the Purpose of Labour Exploitation (DH-TET)

(as adopted by the Committee of Ministers at its 1401st meeting, 14-15 April 2021)

Drafting Committee on Trafficking for the Purpose of Labour Exploitation (DH-TET)

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Type of committee: Subordinate body

Terms of reference valid from: 15 April 2021 until 30 June 2022

PILLAR/PROGRAMME/SUB-PROGRAMME

Pillar: Human Rights / Rule of Law

Programme: Effective ECHR implementation / Action Against Crime, Security and Protection of Citizens **Sub-programme**: Effectiveness of the ECHR system at National and European Level / Action Against Crime and Protection of Citizens

SPECIFIC TASKS

(i) Under the authority of the Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH), prepare a draft recommendation of the Committee of Ministers on preventing and combating trafficking in human beings for the purpose of labour exploitation, based notably on the Compendium of Good Practices and the Guidance Note on Preventing and Combating Trafficking in Human Beings for the Purpose of Labour Exploitation developed by the Group of Experts on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings (GRETA), as well as on the case law of the European Court of Human Rights.

COMPOSITION

Members:

The Committee shall be composed of 15 members with established expertise in the fields of preventing and combating trafficking in human beings, identification, assistance and protection of victims of trafficking, labour rights and human rights, comprising 10 member States' representatives, 5 of which designated by the Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH), 4 by the European Committee on Crime Problems (CDPC) and 1 by the Governmental Committee of the European Social Charter and the European Code of Social Security, and 5 independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General.

The composition of the Drafting Committee will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of these 15 members. Other member States may send representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

The Chair of the Drafting Committee shall be designated by the CDDH.

Participants:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and at the charge of their corresponding administrative budgets:

- Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
- Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe:
- European Court of Human Rights;
- Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights;
- Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe;
- European Committee of Social Rights (ECSR);
- Group of Experts on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings (GRETA);
- European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI);
- Gender Equality Commission (GEC);
- other committees and bodies of the Council of Europe engaged in related work, as appropriate.

The following may send a representative without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- European Union (one or more representatives, including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights FRA, the European Labour Authority and Europol);
- other international organisations, including the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office of the Special Representative and Co-ordinator for Combating Trafficking in Human Beings (OSCE), the International Labour Organization (ILO), the International Organization for Migration (IOM), the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD), the Council of Baltic Sea States (CBSS);
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America.

Observers:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- Belarus
- non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant co-operation activities;
- non-governmental organisations: Amnesty International, La Strada International, Anti-Slavery International, the European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control (HEUNI), the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ), the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC), Business Europe, International Organisation of Employers (IOE), International Federation of Human Rights (FIDH), European Network of National Human Rights Institutions (ENNHRI), Platform for International Co-operation on Undocumented Migrants (PICUM);
- other civil society, professional and academic communities, as appropriate.

WORKING METHODS

Meetings:

15 members, 2 meetings in 2021, 2 days each 15 members, 2 meetings in 2022, 2 days each

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

The Committee will also appoint a Gender Equality Rapporteur from amongst its members.

Whenever appropriate, it will prioritise environmentally sound working methods, such as virtual meetings facilitated by information technology and written consultations.