

Strasbourg, 18 May 2018

CDCPP(2018)4 Item 4 of the agenda

STEERING COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, HERITAGE AND LANDSCAPE (CDCPP)

ELECTIONS OF A CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR AND FOUR MEMBERS OF THE BUREAU

For action

Secretariat Memorandum
prepared by the
Directorate of Democratic Citizenship and Participation
Culture, Nature and Heritage Department

This document is public. It will not be distributed at the meeting. Please bring this copy. Ce document est public. Il ne sera pas distribué en réunion. Prière de vous munir de cet exemplaire

Introduction

I. Rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP

As a Council of Europe intergovernmental committee, the rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP are governed by <u>Resolution CM/Res(2011)24</u> of the Committee of Ministers. The rules of procedure for intergovernmental committees appear in Appendix 1 to this Resolution (see extract on page 4).

Article 12 of the Rules of procedure stipulates that: "Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair." The principle role of the Chair is to "conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever he or she thinks necessary", the Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair should the Chair be absent or otherwise unable to preside the meeting.

In accordance with Article 13 of the rules of procedure, the CDCPP may appoint a Bureau consisting of a Chair, Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The functions of the Bureau are:

- to assist the Chair in conducting the committee's business;
- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary;
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.

At the 1300th meeting of the Deputies on 21-23 November 2017, the Committee of Ministers approved the <u>new Terms of Reference</u> of the Steering Committee for Culture, Heritage and Landscape, valid from 1 January 2018 until 31 December 2019.

Composition of the Bureau

The composition of the Bureau of the CDCPP is currently as follows:

Chair:

Mr Kimmo Aulake (Finland) - re-elected in 2017 for a second and last term of office.

Vice-Chair:

Ms Giuliana De Francesco (Italy) – elected in 2017 for a renewable one-year term of office, may be elected Chair, or be re-appointed as Vice-Chair for a second term of one year.

Other members:

Ms Gislaine Devillers (Belgium) – elected in 2017 for a two-year term of office, non-renewable.

Mr Levan Kharatishvili (Georgia) – elected in 2017 for a two-year term of office, non-renewable.

Ms Kristina Kincses (Hungary) – elected in 2017 for a two-year term of office, non-renewable.

Ms Helga Ragnheidur Thorarinsdottir (Iceland) – elected in 2016 for two years, renewable, but has communicated to the Bureau that she will not stand for re-election.

Mr Andreï Chistol (Republic of Moldova) – elected in 2016 for two years, renewable.

Ms Doris Kurtov (Croatia) – re-elected in 2016 for two years, so cannot be re-elected as member.

Ms Hanna Jedras (Poland) – re-elected in 2016 for two years, so cannot be re-elected as member.

Action required

The Committee is invited to:

- elect a new Chair for one year;
- elect or re-elect a Vice-Chair for one year;
- elect (or re-elect) four Bureau members¹.

¹ Two current Bureau members could be re-elected for a second two-year term of office, namely Mr Andreï Chistol (Republic of Moldova) and Ms Helga Ragnheidur Thorarinsdottir (Iceland). However, at the meeting of 10 April 2018, Mrs Thorarinsdottir informed the CDCPP Bureau that she would not be standing for election in June.

Extract from Resolution CM/Res(2011)24

Article 12 - Chair

- a. Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair. However, the Chair of a subordinate body may be appointed by the steering or ad hoc committee to which it is answerable.
- b. The Chair shall conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever he or she thinks necessary. He or she may call to order a speaker who departs from the subject under discussion or from the committee's terms of reference. The Chair shall retain the right to speak and to vote in her/his capacity as a member of the committee, except in cases where an additional expert from the same country has been appointed to sit on that committee.
- c. The Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair if the latter is absent or otherwise unable to preside the meeting. If the Vice-Chair is absent, the Chair shall be replaced by another member of the Bureau, appointed by the latter or, where there is no Bureau, by a member of the committee appointed by the committee.
- d. Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall require a two-thirds majority at the first ballot and a simple majority at the second ballot. In steering committees, the election shall be held by secret ballot, in other committees by a show of hands, unless a member of the committee requests a secret ballot.
- e. The term of office of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be one year. It may be renewed once.

Article 13 – Bureau

- a. Every steering and ad hoc committee may appoint a bureau consisting of the Chair, the Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The number of other members shall be specified in the committee's terms of reference. Any other committee may, if need be, appoint a bureau composed, normally, of not more than three members in addition to the Chair and Vice-Chair. The functions of the Bureau are:
- to assist the Chair in conducting the committee's business;
- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary;
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.
- b. No decision on substantive issues shall be taken by the Bureau on behalf of the committee. In exceptional cases and due to time constraint, the Bureau may have recourse to the tacit approval of all the members of the committee through electronic communication, in order to expedite procedure on decisions requested by the Committee of Ministers.
- c. Other members of the Bureau shall be appointed in the same manner as the Chair and Vice-Chair. They shall be appointed immediately after the Chair and Vice-Chair in accordance with an equitable distribution of posts, taking into account in particular geographical distribution, gender balance and, where relevant, legal systems.
- d. The term of office of such members shall correspond to the duration of the mandate of the committee and may be renewed once. However, a member may, on expiry of her/his second term, be appointed Chair or Vice-Chair. In order to ensure partial replacement of the Bureau each year, the first term of at least one such member shall be limited to one year.
- e. A member elected to replace another whose term of office has not expired shall complete her/his predecessor's term. The same shall apply to the offices of Chair and Vice-Chair.