



AS/Per (2023) OJ 02rev 13 May 2023

Standing Committee

Revised draft agenda

of the meeting to be held

in Reykjavík on Monday 15 May 2023 from 14:15 to 18:30

(Venue: Iceland Parliament Hotel, Thorvaldsenstraeti 2-6, 101, Reykjavík, Iceland)

- 1. Opening of the meeting by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly
- 2. Welcome address by Mr Birgir Ármannsson, Speaker of Alþingi Parliament of Iceland
- 3. Video message by Mr Ruslan Stefanchuk, Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine
- 4. Agenda

AS/Per (2023) OJ 02rev

Adoption of the revised draft agenda

5. Special event on the 4th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Council of Europe -United around values in the face of extraordinary challenges

Introductory remarks by **Mr Bjarni Jónsson**, Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly

Remarks by Mr Bjørn Berge, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe

"The Council of Europe as a key player of the multilateral architecture"

Interactive panel discussion moderated by Ms Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir, Office of the Prime Minister of Iceland and former Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly, with the participation of:

- o Ms Þórdís Kolbrún Reykfjörð Gylfadóttir, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Iceland
- Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Assembly
- Ms Sylvie Bermann, former Ambassador of France to Beijing, London, and Moscow
- Ms Alice Bergholtz, Vice-Chair of the Advisory Council on Youth, Council of Europe

Exchange of views with members of the Assembly

This document is the convocation to the meeting for the members of the Standing Committee

Copy for information to the Secretaries of delegations and political groups

"The Council of Europe as a pioneer of human rights protection: the new generation of rights"

Interactive panel discussion moderated by Ms Rósa Björk Brynjólfsdóttir, Office of the Prime Minister of Iceland and former Chairperson of the Icelandic delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly, with the participation of:

- Ms Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland
- Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Assembly
- Ms Ilze Brands Kehris, United Nations Assistant Secretary-General for Human Rights
- Ms Nathalie Smuha, Researcher and Assistant Lecturer, Institute for European Law, KU Leuven, expert on Artificial Intelligence
- Ms Tinna Hallgrímsdóttir, youth representative in the Icelandic Climate Council

Exchange of views with members of the Assembly

Statement by Ms Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Leader of the Belarus democratic opposition

Concluding remarks by Ms Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland, and Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Parliamentary Assembly

- 6. Other business
- 7. Next meeting

Riga, 26 May 2023