

Raoul Wallenberg Prize

The Jury consists of six independent persons with recognised moral standing in the field of human rights and humanitarian action, and appointed by: the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the municipality of Budapest, the Raoul Wallenberg Institute in Lund, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the Raoul Wallenberg family.

Jury 2021-2025

Mr Roderick Liddell (appointed by the Secretary General)



Roderick Liddell was born on 16 March 1955, in Lingfield, the United Kingdom. He was educated at Eton College, Windsor and went on to read Jurisprudence at Oxford University from 1974-1977. He began his career as a lawyer-linguist at the Court of Justice of the European Communities in Luxembourg in 1982 before joining the Council of Europe in 1987. He joined the Registry of the European Court of Human Rights in 1988 and has held successively senior posts culminating in his election as Registrar of the Court in 2015. (retired in November 2020)

Ms Lena Posner-Körösni (appointed by the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs)



Lena Posner-Körösi was born in Sweden, is a second generation of a Holocaust survivors, married to an Hungarian born Jew also second generation. For 16 years she was the president of the Official council of Jewish Communities in Sweden. Lena Posner-Körösi was on the National Board for Raoul Wallenberg 100 years and is on the jury for the Swedish Raoul Wallenberg Prize.

She is currently on a governmental committee as Sweden celebrates 100 years of democracy 2021.

(photography: Karl Gabor)

Susanne Berger (appointed by the Raoul Wallenberg family)



Susanne Berger is a German graduate of American University in Washington, D.C. Her research addresses the wider political and economic aspects of Wallenberg's humanitarian mission to Budapest, as well as their associated effects on the investigation of his disappearance For six years she served as a consultant to the Swedish-Russian Working Group on the Fate of Raoul Wallenberg. She is the initiator and coordinator of the Raoul Wallenberg Research Initiative (RWI-70) and also serves as Senior Fellow at the Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights in Montreal, Canada.

Mr Henrik M. Nordentoft (appointed by UNHCR)



Henrik M. Nordentoft is the Representative of the UNHCR Representation for the Nordic and Baltic countries which is located in Stockholm, Sweden. He has worked for the past 30 years on refugee, asylum, and migration issues with postings in Turkey, Tanzania, Iran, Indonesia, Malaysia and several assignments at the UNHCR Headquarters in Geneva. Most recently as Deputy Director of the Division of Programme, Support & Management.

Mrs Elisabet Fura (appointed by the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Institute for Human Rights, Lund)



Elisabet Fura has been appointed Chairperson of the Board of Trustees at the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law in Lund since 1 July 2017.

Most recently Fura was the Chief Parliamentary Ombudsman in Sweden where she served from 2012 to 2016. From 2003 till 2012, she served as a judge at the European Court of Human Rights.

Mr Máté SZABO (appointed by the Municipality of the City of Budapest) (2019-2023)



Máté Szabo is a lawyer specializing in the protection of fundamental freedoms and informational rights.

Currently, he works as the Director of Programs at the Hungarian Civil Liberties Union (HCLU), one of the most significant human rights NGO in Hungary. He had previously been a senior lecturer at University of Miskolc's Department of Informational and Media Law. At HCLU, he is responsible for the supervision of holding various strategic litigation cases by the organization, before domestic, lower and higher, and international courts as well.