

Raoul Wallenberg Prize

The Jury consists of six independent persons with recognised moral standing in the field of human rights and humanitarian action, and appointed by: the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the municipality of Budapest, the Raoul Wallenberg Institute in Lund, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the Raoul Wallenberg family.

Jury 2016-2020

Mr Björn BERGE (appointed by the Secretary General)



Bjørn Berge (Norway), Director General and Secretary to the Committee of Ministers, previously served over seven years as Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General and Deputy Secretary General. Before that he worked as a Norwegian diplomat, including as Senior Adviser on international issues to the Norwegian Prime Minister. Bjørn Berge was elected on 26 January 2021 by the Parliamentary Assembly as Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

Ms Ingrid CARLBERG (appointed by the Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs)



Ingrid Margareta Carlberg, is a Swedish author and journalist. She is the author of the biography "Raoul Wallenberg: The Heroic Life and Mysterious Disappearance of the Man Who Saved Thousands of Hungarian Jews from the Holocaust" She was elected to the Swedish Academy on 13 October 2020.

Mr Irwin COTLER (appointed by the Raoul Wallenberg family)



The Honourable Irwin Cotler is the Founder- Chair of the Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights, Canada's Special Envoy on Preserving Holocaust Remembrance and Combatting Antisemitism, former Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, long-time Member of Parliament, international human rights lawyer, counsel to prisoner of conscience, and Emeritus Professor of Law at McGill University.

Ms Pia Prytz PHIRI (appointed by UNHCR)



Pia Prytz Phiri, is a Danish national. She studied law at Copenhagen University where she graduated with a L Masters in Law (Cand. Jur) with specialization in European Union and International Law. She served in several senior and leadership positions in UNHCR in countries and operations in Europe, Africa and Asia between 1984 and 2017. She retired from UNHCR in 2017 and has since, inter alia, provided leadership mentoring to first time representatives (diplomats) in UNHCR (2017- 2020).

Mr Rolf RING (appointed by the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Institute for Human Rights, Lund)



Rolf Ring is the Deputy Director and Head of the Department for Administration and Finance of the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Institute for Human Rights. Before that, he worked as a Project Co-ordinator for the Swedish Red Cross and served as an assistant to the Chair in International Law at the Faculty of Law, Lund University. He has experiences from designing, managing and monitoring international programmes as well as evaluations. Rolf holds a LL.M. from Lund University.

Mr. János HOLLÓS (appointed by the Municipality of the City of Budapest) (2016-2018)

Chief Advisor, Communication Directorate

Mr Máté SZABO (appointed by the Municipality of the City of Budapest) (2019-2023)



Máté Szabo is a lawyer specializing in the protection of fundamental freedoms and informational rights.

Currently, he works as the Director of Programs at the Hungarian Civil Liberties Union (HCLU), one of the most significant human rights NGO in Hungary. He had previously been a senior lecturer at University of Miskolc's Department of Informational and Media Law. At HCLU, he is responsible for the supervision of holding various strategic litigation cases by the organization, before domestic, lower and higher, and international courts as well.