

## 48th SESSION CG(2025)48-PV-01pm

the debate.

## **MINUTES**

# **First Sitting**

Tuesday 25 March 2025	
Plenary Sitting	
14.30	– 19.30, Hemicycle
	Marc COOLS, President of the Congress, took the Chair at 14.31.
11.	Russian Federation's war of aggression against Ukraine
	Recovery and reconstruction of Ukraine
	The President welcomed the following guests and invited them to make a statement:
	Oleksii RIABYKIN, Deputy Minister of Communities and Territories
	<ul> <li>Development, Ukraine</li> <li>Vitalii BEZGHIN, Member of Parliament, Chair of the Parliamentary         Subcommittee on Administrative and Territorial Organisation and Local Self-         Government, Parliamentary Committee on Organisation of State Power, Local         Self-Government, Regional Development and Urban Planning, Ukraine</li> <li>Davide LA CECILIA, Special Envoy for the Reconstruction of Ukraine, Italy (on-         line participation).</li> </ul>
	Oleksii RIABYKIN, Vitalii BEZGHIN and Davide LA CECILIA made statements.
	The President thanked the speakers.
	The co-rapporteurs, Martine DIESCHBURG-NICKELS, Luxembourg (L, ILDG), and Gunn-Marit HELGESEN, Norway (R, EPP/CCE), presented the draft declaration in document CG(2025)48-12.
	The debate opened.
	Speakers: Liliia PASHYNNA, Ukraine (L, ILDG); Sonja LEDL-ROSSMANN, Austria (R, EPP/CCE); Tatia NIKOLASHVILI, Georgia (L, EPP/CCE); Sevdia UGREKHELIDZE, Georgia (L, EPP/CCE); Bryony RUDKIN, United Kingdom (L, SOC/G/PD); Volodymyr KOVALENKO, Ukraine (L, EPP/CCE); Mykola LUKASHUK, Ukraine (R, ILDG); Svitlana BOHATYRCHUK KRYVKO, Ukraine (R, ECR); Sergii MAZUR, Ukraine (L, ECR); Yelzaveta KAIDASH, Ukraine (youth delegate); Gunther BERGMANN, Germany (R, EPP/CCE); Emina PASANOVIC, Bosnia and Herzegovina (youth delegate); Johannes Christoffel VAN DER HOEK, Netherlands (L, ILDG); Igor STOJANOVIC, Bosnia and Herzegovina (R, SOC/G/PD); Victoria ARAKELYAN, Georgia (youth delegate); Thibaut Guignard, France (L, EPP/CCE); Kevin Bentley, United Kingdom (R, ECR); Joanne Louise LABAN, United Kingdom (L, ECR); Soeren SCHUMACHER, Gemany (R, SOC/G/PD).
	David LE CECILIA, Vitalii BEZGHIN, Oleksii RIABYKIN and the co-rapporteurs replied to

	The debate was closed.
	The Congress proceeded to vote on the draft declaration in document CG(2025)48-12 and the two amendments tabled to it, in document CG(2025)48-12-AMDT.
	Amendment 1 was presented by Liliia PASHYNNA, Ukraine (L, ILDG).
	The amendment was agreed.
	Amendment 2 was presented by Liliia PASHYNNA, Ukraine (L, ILDG).
	The amendment was agreed.
	The Congress proceeded to vote on the draft declaration, as amended.
	The draft declaration was adopted.
	Bernd VÖHRINGER, Vice-President of the Congress, took the Chair at 16.06
12.	United Nations Second World Summit for Social Development
	The co-rapporteurs, Harald SONDEREGGER, Austria (R, EPP/CCE), and Martine DIESCHBURG-NICKELS, Luxembourg (L, ILDG), presented the draft recommendation in document CG(2025)48-11.
	Bob RAE, President of the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC) made a video statement.
	The debate was opened.
	Speakers: Reinhart ROHR, Austria (R, SOC/G/PD); Maike ELSASSER, Germany (youth delegate); Marcus FROEJK MELAU, Denmark (youth delegate).
	The co-rapporteurs replied to the debate.
	The debate was closed.
	The Congress proceeded to vote on the draft recommendation in document CG(2025)48-11.
	The draft recommendation was adopted.
	Marc Cools, President of the Congress, took the Chair at 16.28
13.	Sexual violence in conflict zones
	The President welcomed Her Royal Highness the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg and Chékéba HACHEMI, President, "Afghanistan Libre" association and co-founder of "Stand, Speak, Rise Up!"
	A video message on the work of "Stand, Speak, Rise up!" was screened.
	The Grand Duchess of Luxembourg and Chékéba HACHEMI were in conversation.
	The Grand Duchess of Luxembourg and Chékéba HACHEMI responded to questions from: Gudrun MOSLER-TÖRNSTRÖM, Austria (L, SOC/G/PD), Standing Rapporteur on Human Rights; Oksana DERKACH, Ukraine (L, EPP/CCE); Nazia REHMAN, United Kingdom (L, SOC/G/PD), Thematic Spokesperson on gender equality.
	The President thanked the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg and Chékéba HACHEMI.
14.	"Thinking of You" Art Installation: Ceremony to launch the Strasbourg iteration
	The President welcomed Alketa XHAFA MRIPA, artist, "Thinking of You", and invited her to make a statement.
	Alketa XHAFA MRIPA made a statement.
	Her Royal Highness the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg donated a "Stand, Speak, Rise Up!" association T-shirt.
	The President donated a dress.
1	

#### The President thanked Alketa XHAFA MRIPA.

#### 15. Violence against women in politics

The President welcomed Jaqueline McLAREN, Lord Provost of Glasgow City Council, United Kingdom, and Flo CLUCAS, Chair of the Standing Committee on Gender Equality of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR), and invited them to make a statement.

Jaqueline McLAREN and Flo CLUCAS made statements.

The debate was opened.

Speakers: Tatia NIKOLASHVILI, Georgia (L, EPP/CCE); Sevdia UGREKHELIDZE (L, EPP/CCE); Eke FOLKERTS, Netherlands (R, EPP/CCE); Jelena BOROVINIC BOJOVIC, Montenegro (L, EPP/CCE); Thibaut GUIGNARD, France (L, EPP/CCE); Majlinda BUFI, Albania (SOC/G/PD); Joanne Louise LABAN, United Kingdom (L, ECR); Nazia REHMAN, United Kingdom (R, SOC/G/PD); Veronique PACAUT, France (L, EPP/CCE); Rachel BAILEY, United Kingdom (R, ECR); Angela BOYES, United Kingdom (L, ILDG); Amanda SERJEANT, United Kingdom (L, SOC/G/PD); Maylinda BAJRAMI, Albania (youth delegate); Heather BRANNAN MCVEY, United Kingdom (L, SOC/G/PD); Aida KARIMLI, Sweden (R, ILDG); Jan BOMAN, Sweden (L, SOC/G/PD); Sevim KAYA-KARADAG, Germany (R, SOC/G/PD; Lumi REICHENBACH, Finland (youth delegate); Elianne DEMOULLIN-SCHNEIDERS, Netherlands (R, EPP-CCE); Veronique BERTHOLLE, France (L, SOC/G/PD); Emine Helil INAY KINAY, Türkiye (R, SOC/G/PD); Kader UZUN MAKENKUYU, Türkiye (R, SOC/G/PD); Christos NTONIS, Greece (youth delegate); Renars KARLINSKIS, Latvia (youth delegate).

Flo CLUCAS and Jaqueline McLAREN replied to the debate.

The debate was closed.

The President thanked Jaqueline McLAREN and Flo CLUCAS.

### 16. Local and regional democracy around the world

The President welcomed Chilando CHITANGALA, Mayor of Lusaka, Zambia, and Balakhsher BALOCH, Mayor of Turbat, Pakistan, and invited them to make a statement.

Chilando CHITANGALA and Balakhsher BALOCH made statements.

The debate was opened.

Speakers: Iryna KHALOPITSA, representative of the Belarusian democratic forces; Patrik ONDREJECH, Slovak Republic (youth delegate); Hilde MOERLAND, Netherlands (L, ILDG); Renars KARLINSKIS, Latvia (youth delegate); Mikolaj Franciszek PATALONG, Poland (youth delegate); Xavier CADORET, France (L, SOC/G/PD); Tijana RISTOVSKA, North Macedonia (youth delegate); Kader UZYN MADENKUYU, Türkiye (R, SOC/G/PD); Roxana-Marie CHIRITOIU, Romania (youth delegate); Andrea BORRACCETTI, Italy (youth delegate).

Balakhsher BALOCH and Chilando CHITANGALA replied to the debate.

The debate was closed.

The President thanked Balakhsher BALOCH and Chilando CHITANGALA.

## 17. End of the sitting

The sitting was closed at 19.39

The next sitting of the Congress would be on Wednesday 26 March 2025 at 14.30.