



Ref. DC 195(2022)

European ministers adopt "Dublin Declaration" on preventing violence through equality

Dublin, 30.09.2022 – Thirty-eight Council of Europe member states have committed to a "<u>Dublin Declaration</u>" outlining a series of steps to promote gender equality in order to help prevent domestic, sexual and gender-based violence.

The declaration was adopted by Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine and the United Kingdom following a two-day conference of justice ministers organised by Ireland's Presidency of the Council of Europe.

Inspired by the Council of Europe's <u>Istanbul Convention</u> on violence against women, and expert findings on the implementation of the convention so far, states backing the declaration committed to:

- 1. actively promoting, at the highest level, an institutional and political culture which rejects gender-based discrimination and violence, sexism, gender stereotypes and gendered power dynamics in the public and private sector
- 2. ensuring that strategies aimed at preventing and combating violence against women also address the specific role of men and boys in preventing violence against women
- 3. systematically including awareness-raising campaigns as an integral and fully funded part of long-term action plans on violence against women
- 4. taking measures to include in the official curriculum, of all levels of education, teaching material on issues such as the principle of equality between women and men, nonstereotyped gender roles, mutual respect, non-violent conflict resolution in interpersonal relationships, gender-based violence against women and the right to personal integrity
- 5. providing guidelines for educational material in this area and the training of educational professionals, as well as the creation of knowledge platforms to share best practices
- 6. encouraging initial and in-service training of all relevant professionals, including within the criminal justice system
- 7. taking all possible measures to ensure that episodes of violence are taken into consideration by courts when deciding upon custody and visitation rights
- 8. increasing the provision of perpetrator programmes for domestic violence and for sexual violence operating on the standards and principles set out in the Istanbul Convention
- 9. asking the Council of Europe to carry out a comparative study in member states on the existing models and approaches taken to perpetrator programmes and their results
- 10. inviting states that have not yet done so to sign and ratify the Istanbul Convention and reinforce efforts to implement existing international legal standards in the area of gender equality and violence against women

To date, 37 Council of Europe member states have ratified the Istanbul Convention, enabling its entry into force in those countries. Armenia, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania the Slovak Republic – and the European Union as a whole – have signed, but not yet ratified, the convention. Azerbaijan has not yet signed the convention and Türkiye denounced it in March 2021.

Press Contact

Andrew Cutting, Spokesperson/Media officer, Tel. +32 485 21 72 02

Council of Europe, Media Assistance Unit Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 - www.coe.int - pressunit@coe.int