## CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES OF EUROPE

## Resolution 156 (2003)<sup>1</sup> on local democracy in Belgium

The Congress, acting upon a proposal from the Chamber of Local Authorities,

1. Recalling:

*a.* Article 2, paragraph 3 of Statutory Resolution (2000) 1 of the Committee of Ministers relating to the CLRAE, which entrusts it with the preparation of country-by-country reports on the situation of local and regional democracy in the member states and applicant countries;

*b.* its Resolutions 31 (1996), 58 (1997) and 106 (2000) establishing guiding principles for the preparation of the above-mentioned reports;

*c*. the fact that it has already drafted several reports on the situation of local and regional democracy in various Council of Europe member states;<sup>2</sup>

2. Takes note of the report and recommendation on the situation of local democracy in Belgium drafted by Ms Halvarsson (Sweden, L), rapporteur, Vice-Chair of the Institutional Committee of the Chamber of Local Authorities;

3. Decides to resume consideration of the situation of local democracy in Belgium at a later date, following the adoption of the new regional laws on local authorities, and to extend its consideration to regional democracy (with particular emphasis on regional taxes);

4. Decides to resume its study of the potential consequences of the process of federalism in Europe for local self-government.



<sup>1.</sup> Debated and approved by the Chamber of Local Authorities on 20 May 2003 and adopted by the Standing Committee of the Congress on 22 May 2003 (see Document CPL (10) 2, draft resolution presented by Mrs B. Halvarsson, rapporteur).

<sup>2.</sup> Year of adoption of a recommendation/resolution on local and regional democracy: 1995 (Romania), 1997 (Albania, Italy, Turkey, Russian Federation), 1998 (Croatia, Bulgaria, Latvia, Moldova, United Kingdom, Ukraine), 1999 (Germany, Finland, Netherlands, San Marino), 2000 (Moldova, Estonia, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Czech Republic, France), 2001 (Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Cyprus, Ireland, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia), 2002 (Greece, Moldova, Hungary, Poland, Spain, Malta), 2003 (in preparation: Azerbaijan, Portugal, Moldova, Georgia, Russian Federation).