Committee of the Parties



Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence (Istanbul Convention)

List of decisions taken at the 9th meeting Strasbourg, 15 December 2020

IC-CP/Inf(2020)LD9

Published on 16 December 2020

Agenda item 1. Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda

The Committee adopted the draft agenda as it appears in document IC-CP(2020)OJ9prov.

Agenda item 4: Supervising the implementation of recommendations issued by the Committee of the Parties:

In order to facilitate the reporting to the Committee on measures taken in implementation of the recommendations issued, the Committee decided to use the standardised reporting form as set out in document IC-CP(2020)12 prov, with the modifications agreed on during the meeting.

The Committee decided to continue in writing its exchanges of views on the draft framework for supervising the implementation of the recommendations addressed to state parties set out in document IC-CP(2020)6 prov with a view to adoption at its next meeting.

Agenda item 5. Recommendations on the implementation of the Istanbul Convention by Belgium, Andorra, Malta and Spain:

On the basis of the proposed model recommendation, the Committee adopted recommendations under the first (baseline) evaluation round addressed to the Governments of Belgium, Andorra, Malta and Spain. The recommendations are set out in documents IC-CP(2020)7, IC-CP(2020)8, IC-CP(2020)9, IC-CP(2020)10.

Agenda item 6. Proposals for future action

The Committee endorsed the report entitled "The prolonged pandemic and its impact on women: the Istanbul Convention as a tool to ensure transformative change" [IC-CP(2020)11 prov] and agreed on the future action set out therein.

Agenda item 7. Date of next meeting

The Committee decided to hold its next meeting on 13 April 2021.

Agenda item 8. Election of Bureau members

In accordance with Rule 4 of its Rules of Procedure, the Committee declared

- Ms Nina NORDSTRÖM, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Finland, elected as Chair;
- Mr Breifne O'REILLY, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Ireland, as First Vice-Chair; and
- Ms Albana DAUTLLARI, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Albania, elected as Second Vice-Chair;

for a term of office of one year starting on 1 February 2021.