







GLOBAL FORUM on

Academic Freedom, Institutional Autonomy, and the Future of Democracy

Council of Europe/Palais de l'Europe, Strasbourg
Room 5

20 - 21 June 2019

DRAFT AGENDA

20 June

08:15¹ Registration

09:00 *Welcome*

Moderator: Ms Maria Fassari, Chair of the CDPPE

Mr Matjaž Gruden, Director of Democratic Participation, Council of Europe Dr Ira Harkavy, Chair, International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy; Founding Director, Netter Center for Community Partnerships, University of Pennsylvania

Dr Francisco Guerrero Aguirre, Secretary for Strengthening Democracy, Organization of American States

Professor Ann Katherine Isaacs, Italy, Vice Chair of the Bologna Follow Up Group Professor Sijbolt Noorda, President, Magna Charta Observatory

Dr Hilligje van't Land, Secretary General, International Association of Universities (IAU)

¹ The entrance to the Council of Europe will open at 08.00; it is important participants do not all arrive at the same time and in particular not all arrive just before the opening of the conference.

09:45 Opening Keynote: Academic Freedom, Institutional Autonomy and Democracy's Future

Moderator: Ms Maria Fassari, Chair of the CDPPE

Professor Liviu Matei, Provost, Central European University

10:15 Coffee Break

10:45 Plenary session: Perspectives on academic freedom and institutional autonomy

Moderators:

Ms Maija Innola, Vice Chair of the CDPPE

Dr Brian Murphy, The Democracy Commitment

North America: Professor Wendell Pritchett, Provost, University of Pennsylvania

Australia: Professor Jim Nyland, Australian Catholic University

Latin America: Dr Francisco Guerrero Aguirre, Secretary for Strengthening Democracy,

Organization of American States

Europe: Professor Peter Maassen, University of Oslo

East Asia: Dr QueAnh Dang, Coventry University

Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe: Professor Terrence Karran, University

of Lincoln and expert for the PACE report on "Threats to academic freedom and

autonomy of universities in Europe"

12:00 Plenary session: How do academic freedom and institutional autonomy look from the vantage point of public authorities?

Moderators:

Mr Sjur Bergan, Council of Europe

Dr David Maurrasse, President, Marga Inc; Director, Anchor Institutions Task Force

Dr Ligia Deca, Education Adviser to the President of Romania

Dr William D. "Bro" Adams, Senior Fellow at the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and former Chair, National Endowment for the Humanities

Dr Stefania Giannini, Assistant Director General for Education of UNESCO (via video link)

10 minutes introductions each

Discussion

13:15 Lunch

14:45 Overview of group sessions

Mr Sjur Bergan, Council of Europe Dr Char Gray-Sorensen, Campus Compact

15:15 Group sessions

(six separate groups; within a fairly short distance of the main meeting room and all in the same building. The room number will be indicated for each group)

Groups may decide to take a coffee break at their discretion

- 17:20 Return to main Forum room
- 17:30 Plenary session: Toward a Conference Statement on Academic Freedom and Institutional Autonomy in the Light of the Democratic Mission of Higher Education

Moderators:

Mr Sjur Bergan, Head of the Education Department, Council of Europe Dr Philip Rogers, Senior Vice President, American Council on Education

Discussion of the draft statement

- 18:30 Adjourn for the day
- 18:45 Meeting of the General Rapporteur, group rapporteurs, and the organizers (room 17)

Free evening

21 June

- 08:15 Registration
- 09:00 Plenary session: Academic Freedom and Institutional Autonomy: Examples and Challenges

Moderators:

Ms Sarah Keating, Head, Cooperation and Capacity Building Division, Education Department, Council of Europe

Dr Caryn McTighe Musil, Senior Scholar and Director of Civic Learning and Democracy Initiatives, Association of American Universities & Colleges

Panelists:

Mr Jonathan Alger, Esq., President, James Madison University

Dr Michal Karpíšek, Secretary General of EURASHE

Dr Marcello Scalisi, Director of UNIMED – Mediterranean Universities Union

Dr Hilligje van't Land, Secretary General of the International Association of Universities

Discussion

10:15-10:35 Coffee Break

10:35 Summative policy panel discussion: Academic Freedom and Institutional Autonomy: Where do we go from here?

Moderators:

Mr Sjur Bergan, Head, Education Department, Council of Europe Dr Ira Harkavy, Chair, International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy

Panelists:

Professor Mary Papazian, President of San José State University Professor Sijbolt Noorda, President, Magna Charta Observatory Dr Marie-Anne Persoons, Ministry of Education, Belgium/Flemish Community Mr Jens Vraa Jensen, Educational International Ms Katrina Koppel, Vice-President, European Students Union

Discussion

12:00 Report of the General Rapporteur

Professor Tony Gallagher, Queen's University Belfast

Moderators:

Mr Michael Remmert, Head, Education Policy Division, Education Department, Council of Europe

Dr Ira Harkavy, Chair, International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy; Founding Director, Netter Center for Community Partnerships, University of Pennsylvania

Comments

12:30 Adoption of the conference statement

13:00 Closing of the Conference

Dr Francisco Guerrero Aguirre, Secretary for Strengthening Democracy, Organization of American States

Dr Ira Harkavy, Chair, International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy; Founding Director, Netter Center for Community Partnerships, University of Pennsylvania

Mr Sjur Bergan, Head of the Education Department, Council of Europe

The 2019 Global Forum marks the 20th anniversary of the cooperation between the Council of Europe and the International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy

Sponsors







