

TC-CP(2022)R2 21 April 2022

# Consultation of the Parties Council of Europe Convention on Access to Official Documents (CETS No. 205) – the Tromsø Convention

Report of the 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting

31 March 2022 (videoconference)

#### Item 1: Opening of the meeting and adoption of the agenda

- 1. The Consultation of the Parties of the Council of Europe Convention on Access to Official Documents (CETS No. 205, "the Convention"), held its second meeting by videoconference on 31 March 2022. The meeting was chaired from Strasbourg by Ambassador Rasmus LUMI (Chair).
- 2. Mr Christophe POIREL, Director at the Council of Europe's Human Rights Directorate welcomed the representatives of the Parties. He underlined that the Convention would have a positive impact on transparency and good governance in its States Parties. Also, the standards of the Convention and their interpretation by the Group have the potential to become a reference for other institutions, including the European Court of Human Rights, and to contribute to discussions concerning the scope of the right of access to official documents within other legal systems such as that of the European Union. Mr Poirel invited the Parties which had not yet submitted their reports under Article 14, paragraph 1 of the Convention to do so as soon as possible.
- 3. The Consultation of the Parties adopted the agenda as set out in <u>Appendix I</u>. The list of participants appears in <u>Appendix II</u>.

#### Item 2: Election of the members of the Council of Europe Access Info Group

- 4. The Chair noted that by 31 January 2022 a total of 20 candidates had been submitted by the Parties for membership of the Group. Nine Parties had submitted lists of two candidates; two Parties had submitted single candidate lists.
- 5. The Chair drew the attention of the representatives to the relevant rules set out in Resolution <a href="Mailto:CM/Res(2021)2">CM/Res(2021)2</a> on the election procedure of the members of the Group of Specialists on Access to Official Documents and in the Rules of Procedure of the Consultation of the Parties notably as regards the requirements for the membership and the composition of the Group as well as the election of its members. The Chair informed the Consultation of the Parties that the voting would take place via the KUDO platform, which ensured secrecy of the ballot and calculated the results of the voting.
- 6. In accordance with Rule 21.2 of the Rules of Procedure, with a view to facilitating the exchange of information and good practices between the Parties and improving national selection procedures, the Chair invited the Parties to share information in a short tour de table on the procedures followed for the selection of their candidates. Six Parties shared such information, for example on public calls for candidates, outreach to civil society and the candidates' selection process.
- 7. The Consultation of the Parties proceeded with the election of 10 members of the Group. Following six rounds of voting it elected the following members:

Mr Kestutis ANDRIJAUSKAS

Mr Inge Lorange BACKER

Ms Biljana BOŽIĆ

Ms Veronica CRETU

Ms Thordis INGADOTTIR

Ms Helena JÄDERBLOM

Ms Päivi Hannele KORPISAARI

Ms Tetyana OLEKSIYUK

Mr Attila PÉTERFALVI

Mr Ivar TALLO

8. In accordance with Article 11, paragraph 3, of the Convention and Rule 8 of Resolution CM/Res(2021)2, the Consultation of the Parties decided that these members were elected for a term of office of four years beginning on 1 April 2022 and renewable once.

## Item 3: Information regarding the preparation of reports of the Parties under Article 14, paragraph 1, of the Convention

- 9. The Consultation of the Parties took note that in addition to Sweden and Ukraine, six other Parties, namely Bosnia and Herzegovina, Estonia, Finland, Montenegro, Lithuania, and the Republic of Moldova, had now transmitted their reports to the Secretariat.
- 10. The Consultation of the Parties invited Hungary and Norway to finalise their reports and send them to the Secretariat as soon as possible but no later than 30 April 2022. It is understood that as regards Iceland, the expected deadline for submitting its report is 1 June 2022, given that the Convention entered into force on 1 June 2021 in respect of this Party.

#### Item 4: State of signatures and ratifications of the Tromsø Convention

11. The Consultation of the Parties took note that Albania had signed the Convention on 28 January 2022.

#### **Item 5: Other Business**

12. No other business was discussed.

#### Item 6: Adoption of the list of decisions

13. Pursuant to Rule 10.4 of its Rules of Procedure, the Consultation of the Parties adopted the decisions taken at the meeting (<u>TC-CP(2022)LD2</u>).

### Appendix I

#### **Agenda**

1.	Opening of the meeting by the Chair and adoption of the agenda	TC-CP(2022)OJ01Rev
2.	Election of the members of the Council of Europe Access Info Group	TC-CP(2021)02Rev2confidential TC-CP(2022)matrix TC-CP(2021)03
3.	Information regarding the preparation of reports of the Parties under Article 14, paragraph 1, of the Convention	
4.	Information on the state of ratifications and signatures of the Convention	
5.	Other business	
6.	Adoption of the list of decisions	TC-CP(2022)LD2

#### Reference documents

Resolution  $\underline{\text{CM/Res}(2021)2}$  on rules on the election procedure of the members of the Group of Specialists on Access to Official Documents

Rules of Procedure of the Consultation of the Parties

TC-CP(2021)01

Report of the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting of the Consultation of the Parties 29 November 2021

TC-CP(2021)R1

#### Appendix II

#### **List of Participants**

#### **BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA**

Mr Almir HASECIC
Deputy to the Permanent Representative of Bosnia and Herzegovina

#### **ESTONIA**

Mr Rasmus LUMI (Chair)
Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary
Permanent Representative of Estonia

Mr Taavo LUMISTE
Deputy Permanent Representative of Estonia

#### **FINLAND**

Ms Liisa LEPPÂVIRTA Ministry of Justice

Ms Nanni OLSSON Ministry of Justice

#### **HUNGARY**

Mr Levente SZABÓ Senior government high counsellor Ministry of Justice

#### **ICELAND**

Ms Asthildur VALTYSDOTTIR Prime Minister's office

Mr Thorvardur THORSSON
Deputy Permanent Representative of Iceland

#### **LITHUANIA**

Ms Lina GIEDRAITIENĖ
Ministry of the Economy and Innovation of the Republic of Lithuania

#### **REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA**

Ms Daniela CUJBĂ Ambassador Permanent Representative of Republic of Moldova

Ms Mihaela MARTÎNOV-GUCEAC
Deputy to the Permanent Representative of Moldova

#### **MONTENEGRO**

Ms Violeta BERIŠAJ Deputy Permanent Representative of Montenegro

#### **NORWAY**

Mr Ole Knut LØSTEGAARD Ministry of Justice and Public Security

#### **SWEDEN**

Ms Isabella BJURLING WILLIS Ministry of Justice

#### **UKRAINE**

Ms Ganna KRASNOSTUP CEO of the Directorate on Information Policy and Information Security of Ministry of Culture and Information Policy

#### **SECRETARIAT**

<u>Directorate General Human Rights and Rule of Law</u> (DG I), Human Rights and Rule of Law Council of Europe / Conseil de l'Europe, F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex

Mr Christophe POIREL, Director, Human Rights Directorate

**Human Rights Intergovernmental Cooperation Division** 

Mr David MILNER, Head of Division /, Secretary of the CDDH

Ms Elvana THACI, Secretary of the Consultation of the Parties to the Tromsø Convention

Ms Corinne GAVRILOVIC, Assistant