



CONFERENCE OF INGOS CONF/AG(2021)SYN2

MEETING OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY Report Wednesday 28 April 2021 10.00-12.30 / 14.00 -16.30 Remote meeting (Kudo)

1. Opening of the meeting by Anna Rurka, President of the Conference of INGOs

The President opened the meeting by outlining the agenda, the procedures and rules that would govern the various votes/elections during the meeting.

- 2. Nomination of the Rapporteur of the meeting: Rares Craiut
- 3. Draft agenda vote: 67 yes, 3 abstentions adopted by majority
- 4. Election procedure and opening of the vote for the post of the President, Vice-Presidents and Elected Members of the Standing Committee (voting until 13h30)

The President recalled the election procedure using Scytel and opened the voting for the positions of President, Vice-Presidents and elected Members of the Standing Committee.

5. Election speeches by the candidates for the post of President of the Conference of INGOs

Gerhard ERMISCHER and Anne NEGRE presented their candidacies within the five-minute time limit.

6. Election speech by the candidates for the posts of Vice–President

Genevieve LALOY, David LOPEZ, Christoph SPRENG presented their candidacies within the three-minute time limit.

7. Election speeches by the candidates for the posts of Elected Members

Ruth ALLEN, Davide CAPECCHI, Rares CRAIUT, Gilbert FLAM, Gabriela FREY, Sophie HÜGLIN, Simon MATTHIJSSEN, Goran MILETIC, Harry ROGGE, Piotr SADOWSKI, Olga SAKOWSKAYA, Anita SCHNETZER-SPRANGER, Anna SEVORTIAN, Iamvi TOTSI, Claude VIVIER LE GOT, Beata ZWIERZYNSKA

presented their candidacies within the three-minute time limit.

The vote ended at 13h30.

- 8. **(14h30)** Presentation of the election results for the posts of President, Vice-President, Elected Members
 - Gerhard ERMISCHER was elected President of the Conference of INGOs

Vote: 130 participants, 5 blank votes, 74 votes (59,2%) in favour of Mr. Ermischer, 51 votes (40,8%) in favour of Mme Anne Nègre

- Geneviève LALOY and
- Christoph SPRENG were elected Vice-Presidents of the Conference of INGOs

Vote: 130 participants, 7 blank votes, 101 votes (82,1%) for Mme Laloy, 69 votes (56,1%) for Mr Spreng.

Vote: 130 participants, 1 blank vote, the absolute majority reached

- Rares CRAIUT
- Simon MATTHIJSSEN
- Piotr SADOWSKI
- Ana SEVORTIAN
- Beata ZWIERZYNSKA

were elected in the first round.

9. Opening of the vote for the 2nd round of voting for the posts of Elected Members of the Standing Committee (voting until 16h30)

Meeting now chaired by the newly elected President of the Conference of INGOs

- 10. Presentation of the election procedure and opening of the vote on the proposals of the Committees transmitted by INGOs and election of the Chairpersons of these Committees (voting until 16h30)
- 11. Presentation of candidates for the position of committee chair
 - Committee for the interreligious & interconvictional dialogue. Co-chair candidates:
 Sören LENZ / Gabriela FREY
 - Committee: Action for Social Rights. For the respect of the dignity of every person and all their rights. Chairperson candidate: Anna RURKA
 - Environment, Climate Change, Heritage & Health. Chairperson candidate: Carol RITCHIE
 - Environmental and health crisis: governance and solidarity issues. Chairperson candidate: Anne Marie CHAVANON
 - Human Rights and Artificial Intelligence Chairperson candidate: Gilbert FLAM
 - Civil Society Committee on the Rights of the Child. Chairperson candidate: Michel GRANGEAT
 - Migration Committee on the rights of persons who are migrants. Chairperson candidate: Daniel GUERY

The candidates for the position of Committee Chairs presented their intentions and programmes.

- 12. Exchange with INGOs on current developments in the Council of Europe member States
- 13. Presentation of the voting results of the 2nd round of voting for the posts of Elected Members of the Standing Committee

The elected members of the Standing Committee in the second round

Vote: 122 votes, 1 blank vote

- Ruth ALLEN 42 votes (34,4%)
- Goran MILETIC: 39 votes (32,0%)
- Olga SADOWSKAYA: 36 votes (29,5%)
- 14. Presentation of the voting results on the committee proposals and election results of their Chairpersons

All committee proposals were adopted by the General Assembly. All the candidates for the position of their Chair were elected by the General Assembly.

15. Closing remarks by the newly elected President

Gerhard Ermischer had an exchange of views with the delegates and made an appeal to the INGOs to be active and to collaborate. As an example, he mentioned the CAHAI process where there could be more input from civil society. He expressed his hope for close cooperation with the INGOs as an example of participatory democracy.

16. Date of the next Session: 27 September – 1st October 2021 (this was later changed to 5-6 October)

End of the General Assembly meeting at 17:35 CET.