

9 September 2020

Composition of the Committee of Experts on Combating Hate Speech (ADI/MSI-DIS)

Representatives of Member States:

María Rún BJARNADÓTTIR, Vice-Chair of the Icelandic Media Commission, Iceland (elected by the CDMSI)

Roberto BORTONE, Coordinator at UNAR – National Anti-Racial Discrimination Office, National observatory on hate speech in media, Italy (elected by the CDADI)

Antonina CHEREVKO, Legal Officer, Article 19, London, Head of the Independent Media Council in Ukraine, Ukraine (elected by the CDMSI)

Alexander HOEFMANS, Head of the Unit Data Protection & Equal Opportunities, Belgian Federal Public Service Justice, Belgium (elected by the CDADI)

Barbara LEITL-STAUDINGER, Professor of Public Law, University of Linz, Austria (elected by the CDMSI)

Unni MATHISEN, Senior Adviser with the Ministry of Culture, Norway (elected by the CDADI)

Tarlach McGONAGLE, Professor of Media Law and Information Society, University of Leiden and Senior researcher, Institute for Information Law (IVIR), University of Amsterdam, Ireland (elected by the CDMSI)

Alexander SCHÄFER, Head of division for consumer policy in the information society, telecommunications and media law, Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection, Germany (elected by the CDADI)

Dominique STEIGER LEUBA, International Human Rights Unit, Federal Office of Justice, Federal Department of Justice and Police, Switzerland (elected by the CDADI)

Bastiaan WINKEL, Coordinating Policy Adviser, Law Enforcement and Combatting Crime, Ministry of Justice and Security, The Netherlands (elected by the CDMSI)

<u>Independent experts appointed by the Council of Europe:</u>

Galina ARAPOVA, Director and Senior Media Lawyer, Mass Media Defence Centre, Voronezh

Lawrence EARLY, Former Jurisconsult, European Court of Human Rights

Federico FALOPPA, Associate Professor in Italian Studies and Linguistics, University of Reading

Nadejda HRIPTIEVSCHI, Director of Programmes at the Legal Resources Centre from Moldova (LRCM), Chisinau; former ECRI member and member of the working group preparing GPR 15

Sejal PARMAR, Lecturer, School of Law, University of Sheffield **Eliška PÍRKOVÁ,** Europe Policy Analyst, Access Now, Brussels