

SECRETARIAT AS/Cult (2025) CB 03 10 April 2025

For the attention of the members of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media

Synopsis

of the meeting held in Strasbourg on 7 and 10 April 2025

The Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media, meeting in Strasbourg on Monday 7 and Thursday 10 April 2025, first with Ms Linda Hofstad Helleland (Norway, EPP/CD), Chairperson, then Mr Yunus Emre (Turkiye, SOC), 3rd Vice-Chairperson, and Mr Mehmet Akalin (Turkiye, ALDE), 1st Vice-Chairperson, in the chair,

- Monday 7 April 2025 at 14:00, as regards:
- Minutes: heard Ms Nina Kasimati (Greece, UEL) who, at the meeting held in Paris on 12 March 2025, condemned the atrocities committed in Syria by government authorities and other perpetrators against Christians and other religious and ethnic minorities, and asked the committee Secretariat to submit a revised version of the minutes on this topic;
- Olympic Movement and Peacekeeping: is sport neutrality serving sport values? (Rapporteur: Mr Mogens Jensen, Denmark, SOC): considered and approved a draft report and unanimously adopted a draft resolution;
- Communication from the Chairperson of the committee: has been informed of the:
 - letter sent by the Chairperson of the committee to the FIFA President, proposing 21 May 2025 as the date for the meeting of the committee delegation (as approved by the committee on 30 January 2025) with representatives of FIFA, in Zurich, Switzerland;
 - topics to be discussed at the committee meeting to be held in Trondheim, Norway, on 3 and 4 June 2025;
 - call for the nomination of representatives of the Parliamentary Alliance for Good Governance and Integrity in Sport;
- Council of Europe Museum Prize (Representative of the committee for the Council of Europe Museum Prize: Mr Constantinos Efstathiou, Cyprus, SOC): held a hearing with the participation of Mr Hans Looijen, Chairperson ad interim of the Board of Trustees of the European Museum Forum (EMF); Ms Elixabete Etxanobe, President of the Provincial Council of Biscay, Spain; and Ms Iurdana Acasuso Atutxa, Director of the Euskararen Etxea (The House of Basque Language), Bilbao, Spain, winner of the 2025 Council of Europe Museum Prize;
- Committee representation: appointed, for approval by the Bureau of the Assembly, Ms Belén Hoyo (Spain, EPP/CD) and Ms Marijana Puljak (Croatia, ALDE) as representatives to the *ad hoc* committee of the Bureau to attend the meeting of the European Dialogue on Internet Governance (EuroDIG), in Strasbourg, on 12 and 13 May 2025;

Committee work programme:

- Motion for a resolution and recommendation: heard Mr Mogens Jensen (Denmark, SOC) on the
 motion for a resolution "Need for upholding our diverse culture, freedom of expression and
 information by effective enforcement of copyright", which he wishes to table;
- Appointment of rapporteurs: appointed:
 - Ms Valentina Grippo (Italy, ALDE), rapporteur for opinion on the "Draft Convention on the Coproduction of Audiovisual Works in the form of Series",¹ and heard her declaration of absence of conflict of interests;
 - Mr Benjamin Dalle (Belgium, EPP/CD), rapporteur for opinion on "Eliminating gender stereotypes in the media" (Doc. 15975), and heard his declaration of absence of conflict of interests:
- Reporting back: heard Ms Valentina Grippo (Italy, ALDE), General Rapporteur on Media Freedom and Safety of Journalists, on her participation in the:
 - 3rd meeting of the Committee of Experts on the Implications of Generative Artificial Intelligence for Freedom of Expression (MSI-AI), in Paris on 25 and 26 March 2025;
 - workshop on online harassment against journalists, organised by the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) in Belgrade, Serbia, on 31 March and 1 April 2025;
- Thursday 10 April 2025 at 14:00, as regards:
- Journalists matter: the need to step up efforts to liberate Ukrainian journalists held in captivity by the Russian Federation (Rapporteur: Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk, Ukraine, ALDE): considered an introductory memorandum and held an exchange of views with Ms Kateryna Dyachuk, Head of the Freedom of Speech Monitoring Department at the Institute of Mass Information (IMI), Ukraine; Mr Oleh Borysov, journalist and TV presenter of Freedom TV channel, Ukraine; Mr Michael O'Flaherty, Commissioner for Human Rights, Council of Europe; and Ms Rodica Ciochina, Campaign for the Safety of Journalists, Freedom of Expression and Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI), DGII: Directorate General of Democracy and Human Dignity, Council of Europe;
- Election of the Committee Bureau: elected by acclamation:
 - Mr Mehmet Akalin (Türkiye, ALDE), 1st Vice-Chairperson;
- Committee work programme:
 - Appointment of representatives: appointed Mr Kim Valentin (Denmark, ALDE) as representative of the committee to the Parliamentary Alliance for Good Governance and Integrity in Sport;
- Other business: appointed for approval by the Bureau of the Assembly :
 - Ms Nina Kasimati (Greece, UEL) as a substitute for Ms Mia Karamehić-Abazović (Bosnia-Herzegovina, NR) to the ad hoc committee of the Bureau to attend the meeting between parliamentarians of the Nordic Council and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), to be held in Kristiansand, Norway, on 4 and 5 May 2025;
 - Ms Maria-Nefeli Vasileiou Chatziioannidou (Greece, EPP/CD) as representative to the ad hoc committee of the Bureau to attend the meeting of the European Dialogue on Internet Governance (EuroDIG), in Strasbourg, on 12 and 13 May 2025;
- Next meetings: took note of its next meetings as follows:
 - Trondheim, Norway, 3 and 4 June 2025,
 - Strasbourg, 23-27 June 2025 (during the Assembly part-session),
 - Strasbourg, 29 September 3 October 2025 (during the Assembly part-session),
 - Paris. 1-2 December 2025.

Louise Barton, Dana Karanjac, Silvia Arzilli, Francisco Cabrera

¹ Subject to a CM request for the opinion of the Assembly on the draft convention and to reference to the committee.

Copy to:

Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly
Officers of the Parliamentary Assembly Secretariat
Secretaries of the Assembly's national delegations and political groups
Secretaries of the observer and partners for democracy delegations
General Secretary of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
General Managers and Managing Directors
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communications
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe