

The governing bodies of the Union are:



The General Assembly is the highest governing body of the Union, which has the authority to reach the final decision on any issues pertaining to the governance and activities of the Union. An ordinary meeting of the General Assembly is convened once every five years. All members have the right to participate in the meetings of the General Assembly - each having one vote.

The Republican Council is formed and its members are formally elected by the General Assembly, for a five year term. The Council has about 100 members. All heads of urban communities are considered to be members of the Republican Council by default. The number of mayors representing rural communities in the Republican Council shall be equal to the number of mayors from urban communities (4-8 rural community from each marz). A special quota is in place for ensuring the representation of the female heads of communities in the Republican Council, 3 of which were elected through the defined quota.

The Republican Council convenes meetings at least once a year. It defines the principles of operation, policy and strategy of the Union and adopts recommendations and positions on behalf of all members of the Union on relevant legal acts, policies and strategies.

The Board is formed by the Republican Council for a 2.5 year term. The Board has 32 members including the mayors of Yerevan, Gyumri and Vanadzor, 1 head of an urban community and 1 head of a rural community from the each marz of Armenia, the Chairs of the 6 Standing Committees, the President of the Union and 2 female mayors elected through a special quota.

The Board sessions are convened not less than four times a year. The Board ensures the implementation of the decisions of the General Assembly and the Republican Council, and oversees the implementation of the work plans and the general financial management of the Union. The Board prepares draft policy positions for the approval of the Republican Council, and is responsible for effective advocacy and representation of the Union vis-à-vis the Government, National Assembly and other relevant bodies.

The President is elected by the General Assembly for a 5 year term, with the right to be reelected. Any person who is an actual head of a Community or a member of a Community council or who has occupied the position of the head of the Community or a member of a Community Council within the last five years can be a candidate for the position. The President once elected cannot occupy or perform any other paid activity or hold any remunerated position in local government or other public entities.

The President coordinates the activities of the Republican Council, the Board and other bodies of the Union, represents and makes statements on behalf of the Union.

The Executive Director is appointed by the Republican Council, and manages the Secretariat of the Union, ensures effective communication with members, manages the finances of the Union and reports to the Board and the Republican Council on the operations and the financial situation of the Union.

The Oversight Committee consists of five members elected by the General Assembly for a 5 year term. Members engaged in other governing bodies of the Union cannot become a member of the Oversight Committee. The main function of the Oversight Committee is to ensure oversight and control over the financial management of the Union.



UNION OF COMMUNITIES OF ARMENIA