

AS/Soc/Prize (2025) 07rev2 27 May 2025 Asocdocprize07rev2\_2025

# Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable development Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

# **Programme**

Celebration of the 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Europe Prize In Donostia / San Sebastián (Spain) Friday, 6 June 2025

# Thursday, 5 June

- Arrival of participants at airports of Biarritz, Pays Basque (France), Bilbao or San Sebastián (Spain)
- Accommodation: See the list of hotels provided by the municipality

# Friday, 6 June

10.00-10.30 am Welcome coffee

Venue: Palais Miramar (Hall Sur)

10.30-11.00 am Opening of the conference on "Democracy on trial: how cities carry hope for European values"

Venue: Miramar Palace, Paseo Miraconcha, 48, 20007 San Sebastián (Salón de Música)

(Interpretation: English – French - Spanish)

Opening of the conference by Mr Eneko Goia, Mayor of Donostia / San Sebastián

- Speech by Mr Theodoros Rousopoulos, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
- Speech by Mr Bjørn Berge, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe
- Speech by Mr Konstantinos Koukas, Vice-President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe

#### 11.00-11.30 am Conference

Venue: Miramar Palace, Paseo Miraconcha, 48, 20007 San Sebastián (Salón de Música)

Speech by Mr Christian Petry, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

With the participation of:

- -Ms Angela Jain (Bertelsmann Stiftung, Germany), expert in citizen participation and deliberative democracy
- -Mr Mikel Mancisidor (Spain), lawyer and expert in human rights and international institutions

## 11.30-11.45 am Coffee-break

# 11.45-12.30 pm Discussion groups with young people

Venue: Miramar Palace (Comedor Real)

(Moderator: Maialen Gandarias, language: English)

# 12.30-1.00 pm Debate/Feedback from discussions

Venue: Miramar Palace (Comedor Real)

(Moderator: Maialen Gandarias, language: English)

With the participation of:

- -Ms Angela Jain (Bertelsmann Stiftung, Germany), expert in citizen participation and deliberative democracy
- -Mr Mikel Mancisidor (Spain), lawyer and expert in human rights and international institutions

# 1.10 pm Buffet lunch on the theme of Europe

Venue: Miramar Palace (Salón Blanco and Salón de Música)

## 3.00 pm 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Europe Prize plaque and Tree of Europe

Venue: Ijentea, s/n

# 4.00 pm Official ceremony of the 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Europe Prize

Venue: Town Hall of Donostia / San Sebastián, entry by Alderdi Eder (*Plenary Hall*) (*Interpretation: English - French - Spanish*)

- -Screening of a video created to mark the 70th anniversary of the Europe Prize
- -Welcome by Mr Eneko Goia, Mayor of Donostia / San Sebastián
- -Musical interlude on the theme of democracy and European values Performance by Coro Easo, Easo Sinfonietta and Verdini Musical proposal: "Txoriak Txori", M. Laboa (1934-2008), Arr: m. Bautista
- Speech by Mr Theodoros Rousopoulos, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
- -Musical interlude

Performance by Coro Easo and Easo Sinfonietta Musical proposal: "Logelan logale", J. Astiazaran

-The 86 winning towns of the Europe Prize are announced and congratulated by Mr Christian Petry, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize and Mr Eneko Goia, Mayor of Donostia / San Sebastián

-Honorary award of a Diploma to each winning city for the 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Europe Prize

-Musical interlude: European anthem

Performance by Coro Easo and Easo Sinfonietta

And Verdini

Group photo

**5.30 pm** Free walking tour of the town

## Saturday 7 June: Departure or free programme

-Departure from the hotel to airports of Biarritz, Pays Basque (France), Bilbao or San Sebastián (Spain)

#### Or

-Free programme:

Optional excursions/visits (not organised by the city):

- Chillida Leku Museum (Hernani)
- Basque Culinary Center
- Visits around Gipuzkoa
- Visits around the French Basque Country (France)

## PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Location: Donostia / San Sebastián

Working languages/interpreting: English/French/Spanish

# **Contacts at the Committee Secretariat / Parliamentary Assembly**

# **Ms Catherine DU-BERNARD**

Head of Secretariat **2**: +33 (0)3 90 21 50 47

E-mail: catherine.du-bernard-rochy@coe.int

### Ms Prisca BARTHEL

Europe Prize Section
: +33 (0)3 90 21 51 18
E-mail: prisca.barthel@coe.int

## Ms Özgü TAN

Assistant

**2**: +33 (0)3 90 21 48 64 E-mail: ozgu.tan@coe.int

# Contact at the Municipal OfficeDonostia / San Sebastián

## Ms Arantza Vázquez

Oficina de Estrategia de Donostia / San Sebastián C/ Camino, 2

20004 Donostia / San Sebastián

Phone: +34 943 428 086 / Mobile: +34 648 284 913

E-mail: planestrategikoa@donostiafutura.net