

SECRETARIAT

**AS/Cdh (2024) CB 06** 25 September 2024

## To the members of the Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights

## **Synopsis**

of the meeting held in Paris on 16 September 2024

The Committee on the Election of Judges to the European Court of Human Rights, meeting on 16 September 2024, with Ms Petra Bayr (Austria, SOC) in the chair, as regards:

- Consideration of a list of candidates for a post of judge in the European Court of Human Rights (Cyprus):
  - held an exchange of views with the chairperson of the Advisory Panel of experts, Mr Luis López Guerra;
  - held interviews with the candidates in respect of Cyprus and recommended to the Assembly to reject
    the list on substantive grounds as not all candidates fulfil the requirements of Article 21 of the
    European Convention on Human Rights for election as a judge at the European Court of Human
    Rights and to request the Government of Cyprus to submit a new list of candidates;
- Consideration of a list of candidates for a post of judge in the European Court of Human Rights (Poland):
  - held an exchange of views with the chairperson of the Advisory Panel of experts, Mr Luis López Guerra;
  - held interviews with the candidates in respect of Poland and recommended to the Assembly, by a large majority, Ms Anna Adamska-Gallant as the most qualified candidate.
- Consideration of a list of candidates for a post of judge in the European Court of Human Rights (Slovenia):
  - held an exchange of views with the chairperson of the Advisory Panel of experts, Mr Luis López Guerra;
  - decided to proceed with the interviews with the candidates during the next meeting of the Committee;
- Appointment of a rapporteur Procedure for the election of judges to the European Court of Human Rights
  - appointed Ms Petra Bayr (Austria, SOC) as rapporteur;
- Next meeting: took note of the forthcoming meeting of the committee as follows:
  - Paris, 13-14 January 2025 (Council of Europe office) tbc.

Günter Schirmer, Guillem Cano-Palomares

## Copy to:

Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communication
Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe