



SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2024) CB 06 18 December 2024

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meeting held in Paris on Thursday 12 December 2024

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Paris on 12 December 2024, with first Sir Edward Leigh (United Kingdom, EC/DA), oldest member present, then Anastasios Chatzivasileiou (Greece, EPP/CD), and Ms Petra Bayr (Austria, SOC), in the chair, as regards:

- Election of a First Vice-Chairperson: elected by acclamation Mr Anastasios Chatzivasileiou (Greece, EPP/CD);
- Free movement of representatives to the Parliamentary Assembly and their substitutes to and from the place of meeting (Rapporteur: Mr Sergiy Vlasenko, Ukraine, EPP/CD): considered and agreed a draft questionnaire;
- Joint hearing in the framework of the preparation of reports on: Increasing members' active participation in and contribution to the work of the Parliamentary Assembly and its committees (Rapporteur: Ms Petra Bayr, Austria, SOC) and Free movement of representatives to the Parliamentary Assembly and their substitutes to and from the place of meeting (Rapporteur: Mr Sergiy Vlasenko, Ukraine, EPP/CD): held an exchange of views on Mechanisms for facilitating the participation of PACE members at meetings of the Assembly: national examples with the participation of:
 - Anastasios Chatzivasileiou (Greece, EPP/CD);
 - Baroness Ann Taylor (United Kingdom, SOC);
- Strengthening ethics and integrity in Parliaments the French example: considered an information note and held an exchange of views with:
 - Ms Louise Bréhier, Secretary General of the Haute Autorité pour la transparence de la vie publique;
 - Mr Jean-Eric Gicquel, Deontologue (Commissioner for Ethical Standards) of the National Assembly;
- Respect for the rule of law and the fight against corruption within the Council of Europe (Rapporteur: Mr Frank Schwabe, Germany, SOC): considered a draft explanatory report;
- Work programme:
 - took note of the work programme;
 - heard a declaration of interests from Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE) rapporteur on Modification of various provisions of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure;
 - appointed Ms Sona Ghazaryan (Armenia, ALDE) as a Youth Rapporteur;
 - Vigdis Prize for Women's Empowerment: call for nominations: took note of the deadline of 28 March 2025 for submission of candidatures;
- Next meetings: took note of its next meetings as follows:
 - Strasbourg, during the first part-session 2025 of the Assembly (27-31 January);
 - Strasbourg, 19 March 2025, 9am.

Isild Heurtin, Eleanor Hourigan

cc: Secretary General of the Assembly
Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly
Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly
Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations
Secretary General of the Congress
Secretary to the Committee of Ministers
Directors General
Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe
Director of Communication

Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe