



SECRETARIAT

AS/Pro (2024) CB 05 4 October 2024

To the members of the Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs

Synopsis of the meetings held in Strasbourg on Monday 30 September and Tuesday 1 October 2024

The Committee on Rules of Procedure, Immunities and Institutional Affairs, meeting in Strasbourg on 30 September and 1 October 2024, with Ms Heike Engelhardt (Germany, SOC), and Mr Constantinos Efstathiou (Cyprus, SOC), alternating in the chair, as regards:

• Monday 30 September 2024 from 15:00 to 15:30

- Request for waiver of the immunity of Mr Marcin Romanowski: appointed Ms Heike Engelhardt (Germany, SOC) rapporteur and heard from her a declaration on the absence of any conflict of interest;
 - <u>Tuesday 1 October 2024 from 08:30 to 10:00</u>
- Request for waiver of the immunity of Mr Marcin Romanowski: took note that Mr Romanowski was not present or online for his hearing in front of the Committee, nor had he appointed an Assembly member to represent him;

• Tuesday 1 October 2024 from 14:00 to 15:30

- Request for waiver of the immunity of Mr Marcin Romanowski: considered and approved a draft report and adopted a draft resolution;
- Increasing members' active participation in and contribution to the work of the Parliamentary Assembly and its committees (*Rapporteur: Ms Petra Bayr, Austria, SOC*): considered an introductory memorandum;

– Work programme:

- took note of the work programme;
- appointed Ms Yevheniia Kravchuk (Ukraine, ALDE) rapporteur for a report on "Modification of various provisions of the Assembly's Rules of Procedure"
- took note of the interest expressed by Ms Sona Ghazaryan (Armenia, ALDE) in becoming a Youth Rapporteur;
- decided to ask the Bureau for an extension, until 31 March 2025, of the deadline of the reference for the report "Respect for the rule of law and fight against corruption within the Council of Europe" (*Rapporteur: Mr Frank Schwabe, Germany, SOC*);
- **Next meetings**: took note of its next meetings as follows:
 - Paris, 12 December 2024;
 - Strasbourg, during the first part-session 2025 of the Assembly (27-31 January);
 - Berlin, 13-14 March 2024 (tbc).

Isild Heurtin, Eleanor Hourigan, Roberta D'Amore

Secretary General of the Assembly Directors and all staff of the Secretariat of the Assembly Secretaries of National Delegations and of Political Groups of the Assembly Secretaries of observer and partner for democracy delegations Secretary General of the Congress Secretary to the Committee of Ministers Directors General Director of the Private Office of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe Director of the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights Director of Communication Permanent Representations to the Council of Europe

cc: