

AS/Pol/WB (2023) CB 01 30 October 2023

Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy

Ad hoc Sub-Committee to participate in the conference on the Western Balkans

Synopsis

The ad hoc Sub-Committee to participate in the conference on the Western Balkans (of the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy), meeting in Skopje on Friday 20 October 2023, with the participation of Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, and Ms Despina Chatzivassiliou-Tsovilis, Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly, as regards:

- **Election of the Chairperson of the ad hoc Sub-Committee**: elected, by acclamation, Mr George Papandreou (Greece, SOC);
- Participation in the Conference "Inter-parliamentary dialogue to further promote the European integration of the Western Balkans": participated in the Conference on "Inter-parliamentary dialogue to further promote the European integration of the Western Balkans", co-organised by the Parliamentary Assembly and the Assembly of the Republic of North Macedonia, during which:
 - it heard interventions and held exchanges with:
 - Mr Talat Xhaferi, President of the Assembly of the Republic of North Macedonia
 - Mr Tiny Kox, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
 - Mr Bojan Marichikj, Deputy Prime Minister for European Affairs, Republic of North Macedonia
 - Mr Zsolt Németh, Chairperson of the Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
 - Ms Adrienn Kiraly, Special Advisor for Western Balkans, Directorate General for Enlargement and Neighborhood, European Commission;
 - it participated in panel discussions on geopolitical challenges (Moderator: Mr George Papandreou), on public opinion (Moderator: Ms Despina Chatzivassiliou-Tsovilis) and on international co-operation (Moderator: Mr Aleksandar Nikoloski, Chair of the National Council for Euro-integration and member of the delegation of North Macedonia to the Parliamentary Assembly), with interventions by:
 - Mr Arbër Ademi, Chair of the Commission of European Affairs of the Assembly of the Republic of North Macedonia
 - Mr Aleksandar Brezar, Editor, Euronews View
 - Ms Klotilda Bushka, Chair of the Legal Affairs Committee of the Parliament of Albania
 - Mr David Geer, Ambassador, Head of Delegation of the European Union to the Republic of North Macedonia
 - Mr Peter Hurrelbrink, the Friedrich-Ebert Foundation's Resident, Representative for North Macedonia and Kosovo*
 - Ms Elvira Kovács, Vice-President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
 - Ms Arbreshë Kryeziu-Hyseni, Chair of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora of the Assembly of Kosovo*
 - Ms Nedeljka Ivošević, Member of the Bureau of the Council of Europe Advisory Council on Youth
 - Lord Stuart Peach, Special Envoy to the Western Balkans of the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

^{*} All reference to Kosovo, whether to the territory, institutions or population shall be understood in full compliance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 and without prejudice to the status of Kosovo.

- Ms Marina Ragus, Vice-Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National Assembly of Serbia
- Mr Vitomir Raguz, Head of the European Relations Office, Council of Europe Development Bank
- Mr Erjon Tase, Executive Director, Academy of Political Studies, Tirana;
- it heard concluding remarks by Mr Darko Kaevski, Chairperson of the Delegation of the Republic of North Macedonia to the Parliamentary Assembly, and Mr George Papandreou, Chairperson of the ad hoc sub-committee and former rapporteur of the Parliamentary Assembly on "Supporting a European Perspective for the Western Balkans".

Ágnes Kertész