Committee of Experts on Combating Hate Speech (ADI/MSI-DIS)

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with Resolution <u>CM/Res(2011)24</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Type of committee: Subordinate body

Terms of reference valid from: 1 January 2020 until 31 December 2021

Pillar/Programme/Sub-Programme

Pillar: Human Rights / Rule of Law

Programme: Anti-discrimination, diversity and inclusion / Effective ECHR implementation

Sub-programme: Anti-discrimination, diversity and inclusion – Roma and Travellers – National minorities, regional or minority languages – Migrants / Freedom of expression, media and data protection

Specific tasks

(i) Prepare a draft recommendation by the Committee of Ministers on a comprehensive approach to addressing hate speech, including in the context of an online environment, within a human rights framework building on the case law of the European Court of Human Rights and drawing upon existing Council of Europe texts and the legacy of the No Hate Speech Movement Youth Campaign, as well as possible practical tools to give guidance to member States and other stakeholders in this area.

Composition

Members:

The Committee shall be composed of 10 representatives, 5 on behalf of CDADI and 5 of CDMSI, of the highest possible rank in the fields of equality, non-discrimination and inclusion policies, addressing hate speech through non-legal and legislative actions, and/or freedom of expression and media policy designated by the governments of member States, and 6 independent experts, **appointed by the Secretary General**, with established expertise in these fields.

The composition of the Committee of Experts will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of these 16 members. Other member States may send other representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Each member of the Committee shall have one vote. Where a government designates more than one member, only one of them is entitled to take part in the voting.

In accordance with decisions <u>CM/Del/Dec(2013)1168/10.2</u> of the Committee of Ministers, in cases where there is no convention-based body including all the Parties, non-member States are invited to take part, with a right to vote, in the meetings of the ADI/MSI-DIS pertaining to the conventions to which they are Parties.

Participants:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and at the charge of their corresponding administrative budgets:

- Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe;
- Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe;
- European Court of Human Rights;
- Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights;
- Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe;
- European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI);
- Advisory Committee on the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities;
- Steering Committee for Human Rights (CDDH);
- European Committee on Crime Problems (CDPC);
- European Steering Committee on Youth (CDEJ);
- Advisory Council on Youth (CCJ);
- other committees and bodies of the Council of Europe engaged in related work, as appropriate.

The following may send a representative without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- European Union (one or more representatives, including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights FRA);
- other international organisations, including Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR), United Nations (including Committee for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and other relevant UN agencies), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD);

- Non-governmental organisations and representatives of the academic community and the private sector, including internet intermediaries, and the network of national committees of the No Hate Speech Movement;
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America.

Observers:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- non-member states with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities.

Working methods

Meetings:

16 members, 2 meetings in 2020, 2 days

16 members, 2 meetings in 2021, 2 days

The Chair of the ADI/MSI-DIS will be invited to attend the meetings of the CDADI and the CDMSI and/or their Bureau to inform them on progress with its work.

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by Resolution <u>CM/Res(2011)24</u> on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

The Committee will also appoint a Gender Equality Rapporteur from amongst its members.

Whenever appropriate, it will prioritise environmentally sound working methods, such as virtual meetings facilitated by information technology and written consultations.

BUDGETARY INFORMATION*

	Meetings per year	Number of days	Members	Plenary €K	Bureau €K	Working groups	Secretariat (A, B)
2020	2	2	16	46.2			0.5 A, 0.25 B
2021	2	2	16	46.2			0.5 A, 0.25 B

^{*}The costs include the per diem, travel costs, interpretation, translation and document printing. These costs are calculated on the basis of the 2020 standard costs.