# **CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES**





# The Bureau of the Congress

CG-BUR(2023)55-DEC 26 October 2023

# Meeting of the Bureau of the Congress Strasbourg, France Thursday 26 October 2023

# Abridged report - List of items discussed and decisions taken

- 1. The President of the Congress, Mr Marc COOLS, opened the meeting. The list of participants is set out in Appendix 1.
- 2. The Bureau adopted the agenda as set out in Appendix 2.
- 3. The Bureau took note of the information regarding the 45<sup>th</sup> Congress session and took note of the Chairing of the plenary sitting on 26 October as set out in document CG(2023)55-82.
- 4. The Bureau took note of the new composition of the Bureau as set out in document CG-BUR(2023)55-79, and also took note of the elected Committee chairs and vice-chairs, the leadership of the political groups and the other participants in the Bureau.
- 5. The Bureau took note of the calendar of meetings in 2023 as set out in document CG-BUR(2023)55-80 and approved the calendar of meetings for 2024 as set out in document CG-BUR(2023)55-81. The Bureau took note that two of its meetings in 2024 will take place in Paris, subject to the availability of funds.
- 6. The Bureau held an exchange of views on the management of agendas and debates in plenary and decided to come back to this question at its meeting of 4 December
- 7. The Bureau adopted the present abridged report of the meeting as set out in document CG-BUR(2023)55-DECprov.

### Appendix 1 – List of participants

### Members of the Bureau

Marc COOLS, Belgium (L, ILDG), President of the Congress
Tunç SOYER, Türkiye (R, SOC/G/PD), President of the Chamber of the Regions
Bernd VÖHRINGER, Germany (L, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities
Carla NUNES TAVARES, Portugal (L, SOC/G/PD)
Xavier CADORET, France (L, SOC/G/PD)
David ERAY, Switzerland (R, EPP/CCE)
Jani KOKKO, Finland (L, SOC/G/PD)

Martine DIESCHBURG-NICKELS, Luxembourg (L, GILD/ILDG) Harald SONDEREGGER, Austria (R, EPP/CCE) Sevdia UGREKHELIDZE, Georgia (L, EPP/CCE) Andrew BOFF, United Kingdom (R, CRE-ECR) Oksana DERKACH, Ukraine (L, EPP/CCE)

#### Chairs of committees

Bryony RUDKIN, United Kingdom (L, SOC/G/PD), Current Affairs Committee Thibaut GUIGNARD, France (L, EPP/CCE), Monitoring Committee

### **Outgoing President**

Leendert VERBEEK, Netherlands (R, SOC/G/PD)

### **Presidents of Congress political groups**

Stewart DICKSON, United Kingdom (R, ILDG) Vladimir PREBILIC, Slovenia (L, SOC/V/DP), A.I. Svitlana BOHATYRCHUK KRYVKO, Ukraine (R, ECR)

## **Secretariat**

Mathieu MORI, Secretary General of the Congress Sarah BURTON, Head of the Table Office of the Congress Dmitri MARCHENKOV, Executive Secretary of the Chamber of Regions Stephanie POIREL, Executive Secretary of the Chamber of Local Authorities Katyana VASILEVA, Assistant to the Bureau Yann PRIVAT, Assistant to the Bureau

# Appendix 2 – Agenda

1.	Opening of the meeting		
2.	Adoption of the agenda	CG-BUR(2023)55-OJ CG-BUR(2023)54-DEC	Dec. Info.
3.	45th Session of the Congress (24-26 October 2023)		
3.1	Possible urgent questions		Dec.
3.2	Chairing of the plenary sitting of 26 October 2023	25.10 CG-BUR(2023)55-82REV	Info.
4.	Composition of the Bureau		Info.
4.1	Elected Bureau members	<b>25.10</b> <u>CG-BUR(2023)55-79</u>	Info.
4.2	Committee chairs and vice-chairs		Info.
4.3	Leadership of the political groups		Info.
4.4	Other participants in the Bureau		Info.
5.	Congress meetings		
5.1	Calendar of meetings in 2023	CG-BUR(2023)55-80	Info.
5.2	Calendar of meetings for 2024	CG-BUR(2023)55-81	Dec.
6.	Other business		Info.
7.	Adoption of the abridged report of the meeting	CG-BUR(2023)55-DEC	Dec.
	Close of the meeting		
	Date of the next meeting:		
	Strasbourg, 4 December 2023		
	to contact the Congress Bureau Secretariat  → congress.bureau@coe.int		