

STEERING COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, HERITAGE AND LANDSCAPE (CDCPP)

CDCPP(2015)5 rev.

Strasbourg, 22 May 2015

4th meeting Strasbourg, 1-3 June 2015

ELECTION OF A CHAIR, VICE-CHAIR AND TWO MEMBERS OF THE BUREAU

DOCUMENT FOR DECISION

Item 3 of the draft Agenda

The Committee is called upon to elect:

- a Chair for one year;
- a Vice-Chair for one year;
- two members of the Bureau for one year

and to appoint five representatives in other bodies.

Nominations should be given to the Secretariat before 4pm on 1 June 2015.

Introduction

1. Rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP

As a Council of Europe intergovernmental committee, the rules of procedure and working methods of the CDCPP are governed by <u>Resolution CM/Res(2011)24</u> of the Committee of Ministers. The rules of procedure for intergovernmental committees appear in Appendix 1 to this Resolution.

Article 12 of the rules of procedure stipulates that: "Every committee shall elect a Chair and Vice-Chair." The principle role of the Chair is to "conduct proceedings and sum up the conclusions whenever he or she thinks necessary", the Vice-Chair shall replace the Chair should the Chair be absent or otherwise unable to preside the meeting.

In accordance with Article 13 of the rules of procedure, the CDCPP may appoint a Bureau consisting of a Chair, Vice-Chair and a limited number of other members of the committee. The functions of the Bureau are:

- to assist the Chair in conducting the committee's business;
- to supervise the preparation of meetings at the committee's request;
- to ensure continuity between meetings as necessary;
- to execute other additional specific tasks delegated by its Committee.

In order to ensure partial replacement of the Bureau each year, the first term of at least one such member shall be limited to one year.

At the 1185th meeting of the Deputies on 20 November 2013, the Committee of Ministers approved the new Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee for Culture, Heritage and Landscape, valid from 1 January 2014 until 31 December 2015.

The working methods for the plenary and Bureau meetings are set out in the table below.

Working methods

Plenary meetings: 50 members, 1 meeting in 2014, 2.5 days 50 members, 1 meeting in 2015, 2.5 days

Bureau:

9 members, 2 meetings in 2014, 1.5 days 9 members, 2 meetings in 2015, 1.5 days

2. Chair, Vice-Chair and Bureau members

At its third meeting on 19-21 March 2014, the CDCPP elected:

- its Chair: Mr Bruno Favel, France for one year;
- its Vice-Chair: Mr Kimmo Aulake, Finland for one year;
- five Bureau members: Ms Julia Dao, Switzerland; Ms Božena Krížiková, Slovakia; Mr Michael Lauenborg, Denmark; Ms Doris Kurtov, Croatia; Ms Hanna Jedras, Poland for two years;
- two Bureau members: Ms Maria-José Festas (Portugal) and Mr Pierre Paquet (Belgium) for one year.

Current situation in view of the elections:

- **Chair** elected in 2014 for one year and who may be re-elected or elected Vice-Chair or member of the Bureau: Mr Bruno Favel;
- Vice-Chair elected in 2014 for one year and who may be re-elected or elected Chair or member of the Bureau: Mr Kimmo Aulake;

- **Two members** of the Bureau elected in 2014 for one year and who can be re-elected for one year:

Ms Maria-José Festas, Portugal; Mr Pierre Paquet, Belgium.

Mrs Festas has informed the Bureau that she has ceased to sit in the Committee on behalf of Portugal, therefore she cannot be re-elected in the Bureau.

 Five members elected in 2014 for two years and whose terms of office will continue for one year:

Ms Julia Dao, Switzerland; Ms Božena Krížiková, Slovakia; Mr Michael Lauenborg, Denmark; Ms Doris Kurtov, Croatia; Ms Hanna Jedras, Poland.

As regards the duration of the terms of office of Bureau members, article 13.d of Appendix 1 to Resolution CM(2011)24 sets it at the expiry of the terms of reference of the Committees they belong to, i.e. in this case on 31 December 2015.

Considering the need to ensure the effectiveness of work of the Committee between 31 December 2015 and its first meeting in 2016, the Committee is invited to agree that the Chair, Vice-chair and the newly appointed Bureau members will remain in office until the first meeting of the CDCPP in 2016, provided the Committee of Ministers prolongs the Terms of reference of the Committee itself. The same principle will apply to the current members of the Bureau who have been elected for two years in 2014. This will be recorded in the meeting report and therefore brought to the attention of the Committee of Ministers.

Action required:

The Committee is thus invited to elect or re-elect:

- the Chair for one year;
- the Vice-Chair for one year;
- two members of the Bureau for one year.

2. Other elections

- 1) At its third meeting on 19-21 March 2014, the CDCPP elected:
- Mr Alfredas Jomantas (Lithuania) to participate in the Governing Board of the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes;
- Ms Kristina Plavšak Krajnc (Slovenia) as Gender Equality Rapporteur.

Action required:

The Committee is thus invited to elect or re-elect:

- A representative to participate in the Governing Board of the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes;
- A Gender Equality Rapporteur.
- 2) At the 8th Council of Europe Conference on the European Landscape Convention on 18-21 March 2015, the participants recommended that a Working Group be set up (see item 5.3 of the agenda). Subject to a favourable decision by the CDCPP, the Committee is invited to appoint three of its members to participate in the Working Group.

Action required:

The Committee is thus invited to elect three representatives from the CDCPP to participate in this Working Group.