Committee of experts on Internet Intermediaries (MSI-NET)¹

Set up by the Committee of Ministers under Article 17 of the Statute of the Council of Europe and in accordance with Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.

Type of committee: Subordinate body

Terms of reference valid from: 1 January 2016 until 31 December 2017

Main tasks

Under the supervision of the CDMSI, drawing upon the existing Council of Europe standards, the relevant jurisprudence of the European Court of Human Rights and the results of the Council of Europe comparative study on blocking, filtering and removal of content the MSI-NET will prepare standard setting proposals on the roles and responsibilities of Internet intermediaries.

Pillar/Sector/Programme

Pillar: Rule of Law

Sector: Strengthening the Rule of Law

Programme: Information society and Internet governance

Specific tasks

- (i) Prepare a draft recommendation by the Committee of Ministers on Internet intermediaries;
- (ii) Prepare a study on human rights dimensions of automated data processing techniques (in particular algorithms) and possible regulatory implications.

Composition

Members:

The Committee shall be composed of 13 experts, comprising seven government or member States' representatives, designated by the CDMSI, and six independent experts, appointed by the Secretary General with recognised expertise in the fields of freedom of expression, privacy and internet policy.

The Council of Europe will bear the travel and subsistence expenses of all 13 members.

¹ Excerpt from CM(2015)131 addfinal 2 December 2015.

The composition of the Expert Committee will reflect an equitable geographic distribution amongst the member States and will take account of the gender equality dimension.

Other member States may designate representatives without defrayal of expenses.

Participants:

The following may send representatives without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- the European Union (including, as appropriate, the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA));
- Observer States to the Council of Europe: Canada, Holy See, Japan, Mexico, United States of America;
- the European Audiovisual Observatory;
- the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE);
- UN Agencies (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation UNESCO)
- representatives of civil society, academic communities and the private sector.

Observers:

The following may send representatives, without the right to vote and without defrayal of expenses:

- Non-member States with which the Council of Europe has a Neighbourhood Partnership including relevant cooperation activities.

Working methods

Meetings:

- 13 members, 2 meetings in 2016, 2 days
- 13 members, 2 meetings in 2017, 2 days

The Committee will appoint a Gender Equality Rapporteur from amongst its members.

The rules of procedure of the Committee are governed by Resolution CM/Res(2011)24 on intergovernmental committees and subordinate bodies, their terms of reference and working methods.