“The Convention on Human Rights and Biomedicine: ten years later”


3 November 2009

Room 1, Palais de lEurope

Strasbourg, France 





Conference organised by

the Steering Committee on Bioethics (CDBI) of the Council of Europe,

in cooperation with the Slovenian authorities,

within the framework of the Slovenian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe













Opening session


Chairs:                            Dr Tina Garani-Papadatos (Greece), Chair of the Steering Committee on                                           Bioethics (CDBI)

                            Prof. Javier Arias (Spain), member of CDBI Bureau


9.00 – 9.15               H.E. Mr. Borut Miklavčič, Minister of Health of the Republic of Slovenia

                            Mrs Maud De Boer-Buquicchio, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of                                           Europe


The Convention ten years ago: an achievement and a starting point


9.15 9.35              Prof. Jože Trontelj, President of the Academy of Sciences and Arts, Chair of the National Medical Ethics Committee, Republic of Slovenia


The impact of the Convention: A binding instrument and a legal reference…which influenced the practice.


Chairs:                            Dr Ritva Halila (Finland), member of CDBI Bureau

                            Prof. Daniel Serrão (Portugal), former member of CDBI Bureau


9.35 9.55 The impact of the Convention at national level

Mrs Eva Schewior, Head of Bioethics, Research and New Technologies Division, Federal Ministry of Justice, Germany


9.55 10.15 The impact in Central and Eastern Europe

Prof. Jozef Glasa, Institute of Medical Ethics and Bioethics n. f., Institute of Pharmacology and Clinical Pharmacology – Slovak Medical University, Bratislava, Slovak Republic


10.15 – 10.35 The Convention: a European patient rights instrument

Prof. Herman Nys, Director of the Centre for Biomedical Ethics and Law, Leuven University, Belgium


              10.35 – 11.00 Coffee Break


Chairs:                            Mrs Mary Anne CIAPPARA (Malta), member of CDBI Bureau

                            Prof. Ergun ÖZSUNAY (Turkey), member of CDBI


11.00 – 11.20 The Convention and health systems in Europe

Prof. Henriette Roscam Abbing, European Health Law Association, The Netherlands


11.20 – 11.40 The impact of the Convention at European Union level

Prof. Göran Hermeren, Chair of the European Group on Ethics of Science and New Technologies to the European Commission


11.40 – 12.00 The Convention: a reference at international level

Prof. Sheila McLean, Member of the UNESCO International Bioethics Committee, Professor of Law and Ethics in Medicine at Glasgow University, United Kingdom


12.00 – 12.30 Discussion


              12.30 – 14.30 Lunch break



New challenges


Chairs:                            Prof. Eugenius Gefenas (Lithuania), Vice-Chair of CDBI             

                            Dr Vlasta Močnik Drnovšek (Republic of Slovenia), member of the Bureau of                             the European Health Committee (CDSP)


14.30 – 15.40              Round table: Ratification - What are the difficulties?

Dr Svetlana AXelrod, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Health and Social Development. Russian Federation

Prof. Adriano Bompiani, Université catholique Polyclinique "A. Gemelli", Rome, Italy

Prof. Christian Byk, International Association of Law, Ethics and Science, member of the French Committee for UNESCO

Prof. Zvonko Magic, Head of Department for Clinical and Experimental Molecular Genetics and Genetic Engineering, Military Medical Academy, Belgrade, Serbia

Mrs Kari Steig, Juridical adviser, The Norwegian Directorate for Health and Social Affairs

Dr Michael Stormann, Head of Legislative Unit, Federal Justice Ministry, Austria


              15.40 – 16.10 Coffee Break


16.10 – 16.30 Facing developments in biology and medicine

Prof. Sadek Beloucif, Chair of Steering Committee of the Biomedicine Agency, France


16.30 16.50               Challenging fundamental ethical principles

Dr Nancy Berlinger, Deputy Director, The Hastings Center, United States of America


16.50 – 17.20 Discussion


Closing session


Chairs:                            Dr Dubravka Simonovic (Croatia), former Chair of CDBI

                            Dr Wolfgang Wodarg, (Germany), Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the                             Council of Europe 


17.20 – 17.40 The Oviedo Convention and the case law of the European Court of Human Rights

Mr Jean Paul Costa, President of the European Court of Human Rights


17.40 – 17.50 Concluding remarks

Dr Tina Garani-Papadatos, Chair of the CDBI


17.50 – 18.10


Ambassador, Marjetica Bole, Chairperson of the Ministers’ Deputies of the Council of Europe

Mr Alexander Vladychenko, Director General of Social Cohesion, Council of Europe