Routes4U Project







Implemented by the Council of Europe

Ref ▶ Routes4U Second Call for experts

Routes4U is a joint programme between the Council of Europe (Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes (EPA), Directorate General of Democracy) and the European Union (European Commission, Directorate-General Regional and Urban Policy) for 2017 until 2020. The 30-months project aims to foster the regional development through the Cultural Routes programme of the Council of Europe and focuses on:

- Regional development;
- Social participation;
- Cultural cooperation.

The project also focuses on the four macro-regions in line with the EU Macro-Regional Strategies of the European Commission:

- Adriatic and Ionian: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.
- Alpine: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovenia and Switzerland.
- Baltic Sea: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden.
- Danube: Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, Ukraine, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Romania.

25 Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe pass through the four macro-regions, providing not only leisure and educational activities but also a platform for responsible tourism, cultural cooperation and sustainable development:

ATRIUM | Cluniac Sites in Europe | The Hansa | Huguenot and Waldensian Trail | European Cemeteries Route | European Route of Charles V | European Route of Cistercian Abbeys | European Route of Historic Thermal Towns | European Route of Jewish Heritage | European Route of Megalithic Culture | European Mozart Ways | Destination Napoleon | Iter Vitis Route | Olive Tree Routes | Phoenicians' Route | Prehistoric Rock Art Trails | Réseau Art Nouveau Network | Roman Emperors and Danube Wine Route | Route of Saint Olav Ways | Saint Martin of Tours Route | Santiago de Compostela Pilgrim Routes | TRANSROMANICA | Via Francigena | Via Habsburg | Viking Routes

We are currently setting up a list of independent experts and are seeking professionals in the following fields of expertise:

- Regional development and/or sustainable growth;
- Social participation and/or cohesion;
- Cultural cooperation;
- Sustainable tourism;
- Protection of natural and cultural heritage;
- Communication and/or public relation work.



The experts should have a thorough country-specific knowledge in at least one of the following countries: Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Switzerland, Sweden and/or Ukraine.

The experts will be required to carry out a variety of tasks, such as:

- Research on existing macro-regional policies in the field of the Cultural Routes as well as elaboration of new policies, guidelines or recommendations.
- Study on the economic, touristic and political situation in the four macro-regions, identifying challenges, opportunities and needs.
- Training on subjects related to the Cultural Routes such as marketing, sustainable tourism, small and medium-size entrepreneurships

As the subject-matter and regions of the Routes4U Project are very diverse, we are looking for expertise in various areas of culture, economy, tourism, heritage conservation and creative industries. Working languages for drafting reports is English. Therefore, an excellent knowledge of English is a prerequisite.

The list will endeavour to achieve gender and regional balance.

Once included on the list, experts may also be invited to work on other areas related to the cultural routes programme, and/or to attend seminars and conferences, and will receive regular information on activities. However, please note that inclusion in our database does not guarantee selection for consultancy.

If you are interested in applying, please:

- Fill in the form at: https://goo.gl/forms/06aU08NgR0JHvcjz1
- You will be asked to attach a CV to the form.

The deadline for applications is 15 August 2018 (CEST).