

Promotional material created in the framework of the 2017-20 Joint Programme between the Council of Europe and the European Commission

Funded by the European Union and the Council of Europe





Implemented by the Council of Europe

Routes 4U Project

Fostering regional development through transnational cultural routes, heritage policies and practices in the four EU macro-regions

ROUTES4U TEAM



Stefano DOMINIONI

Executive Secretary,
Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes
stefano.dominioni@coe.int
Tel: +352 24 12 50 33



Constanze METZGER

Senior Project Officer, Routes 4U Project constanze.metzger@coe.int Tel: +352 24 12 50 38



Denise DE ROUX

Communication Officer, Routes4U Project denise.de-roux@coe.int Tel: +352 24 12 50 39



Laura LIGAZZOLO

Project Support Assistant, Routes4U Project laura.ligazzolo@coe.int Tel: +352 24 12 50 39 Council of Europe Directorate General of Democracy F-67075 Strasbourg

Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes - Council of Europe European Institute of Cultural Routes Neumünster Abbey 28 rue Münster L-2160 Luxembourg Tel. +352 25 12 50

www.coe.int/routes4u



The Routes4U Project is implemented:

- By the Enlarged Partial Agreement on Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe (European Institute of Cultural Routes, Luxembourg);
- In coordination with the four EU Macro Regions and the European Commission;
- Through the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe networks;
- According to the Council of Europe Framework Convention on the Value of Cultural Heritage for Society (Faro Convention, 2005).



www.coe.int

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It comprises 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The European Court of Human Rights oversees the implementation of the Convention in the member states.

COUNCIL OF EUROPE











CULTURAL ROUTES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

31 NETWORKS CERTIFIED >50 COUNTRIES, >1000 MEMBERS

ROUTES4U PROJECT

REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT SOCIAL PARTICIPATION CULTURAL COOPERATION

EU- MACRO REGIONAL STRATEGIES

4 EU MACRO REGIONS
27 COUNTRIES , > 340 MILLION PEOPLE

Routes 4U ProjectSome expected results

- Improve the visibility of Cultural Routes of the four macroregions
- Strengthen their capacities to use their full economic and cultural potential
- Encourage regional investment along the Cultural Routes

Cultural route of the Council of Europe Itinéraire culturel du Conseil de l'Europe



Since 1987, the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe invite to travel and discover the rich, diverse and shared heritage of Europe. They are "based on a historic route, a cultural concept, figure or phenomenon with a transnational importance and significance for the understanding and respect of common European values".*

Networks certified by the Council of Europe comprise at least three European countries. Their activities aim to enhance European heritage, ensuring sustainable development.

*Resolution CM/Res(2013)66, Council of Europe, 2013.

Examples of Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe crossing the four EU macro-regions: ATRIUM | Cluniac Sites in Europe | The Hansa | Huguenot and Waldensian Trail | European Cemeteries Route | European Route of Charles V | European Route of Cistercian Abbeys | European Route of Historic Thermal Towns | European Route of Jewish Heritage | European Route of Megalithic Culture | European Mozart Ways | Destination Napoleon | Iter Vitis Route | Olive Tree Routes | Phoenicians' Route | Prehistoric Rock Art Trails | Réseau Art Nouveau Network | Roman Emperors and Danube Wine Route | Route of Saint Olav Ways | Saint Martin of Tours Route | Santiago de Compostela Pilgrim Routes | TRANSROMANICA | Via Francigena | Via Habsburg | Viking Routes

Routes 4U Project is a joint programme between the Council of Europe (Directorate General of Democracy) and the European Union (European Commission, Directorate-General Regional and Urban Policy). The 30-Month Action aims to:

- Focus on the sustainable and resourceful development in the four EU macro-regions through the Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe.
- Contribute to the further development of cultural and tourism industries in the region.
- Strengthen participation of the civil society and local stakeholders, as recognised by the Faro Convention.

Alphe Region Adjustic-Ionian Region Macre-Regions Adjustic and lonian Adjustic and lonian Adjustic and lonian Ballic Sta

Routes 4U Project Examples of activities

- Regional and transational policies and guidelines
- Development of a web portal and e-learning material
- Grant system for exemplary actions
- Cultural Routes
 Card for tourism-based offers

"A European Union macroregional strategy is a policy framework which allows countries located in the same region to jointly tackle and find solutions to problems or to better use the potential they have in common."

The European Commission plays a leading role in the strategic coordination. National and regional coordinators, as well as thematic area coordinator, ensure the implementation.

As 2018, EU macro-regional strategies have been adopted for the Adriatic-Ionian, the Alpine, the Baltic sea and the Danube macro-regions.

*"What is an EU macro-regional Strategy", European Union, 2017.

Routes 4U ProjectSome expected results

- Develop cultural routes projects in the four macro-region
- Foster sustainable growth for creative industries and tourism sector
- Strengthen the capacities in the cultural tourism sector









Countries participating in the 4 EU macro-regions

Adriatic and Ionian (EUSAIR) | Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia

Alpine (EUSALP) | Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovenia and Switzerland

Baltic sea (EUSBSR) | Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden

Danube (EUSDR) | Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, Ukraine, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Romania