Press Release - Council of Europe - Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

T +33(0)390214895

Ref. CG-PR040(2011)

Congress delegation heading for monitoring mission to assess grassroots democracy in Italy

Strasbourg, 28.10.2011 – The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit in Italy from 2 to 4 November 2011. Congress Rapporteurs Knud ANDERSEN (ILDG, Denmark) and Marina BESPALOVA (EPP/CD, Russian Federation) will examine the follow-up commitments undertaken in the field of territorial democracy and decentralisation with regard to Italy’s ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1990. The previous monitoring mission in the country was carried out in 1997.

Meetings will be held in Rome on 2 November with the Italian delegation to the Congress and with representatives of the Municipal and Provincial Association. “This will be an opportunity to speak about important issues on Italy’s grassroots policy agenda, including the proposed deletion of the Provinces, the halving of councillors and the cuts in State transfers,” says Emilio VERRENGIA (EPP/CD, Italy), Head of the Italian Congress delegation.

On the following days, the Congress delegation will meet with members of the Supreme Administrative Court, the Constitutional Court, the Court of Audit and the Ombudsman. In addition, meetings are also scheduled with the Presidents of the Lazio and Lombardia Regions, authorities of the Rome and Milan Provinces and with the Mayors and representatives of the City Councils of Rome and Milan.

A report on the state of local and regional democracy in Italy will be debated at one of the next Congress Plenary Sessions in 2012.

Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretariat of the Congress, + 33 3 90 21 51 84

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.
It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.
President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)
Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People’s Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).