T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 60 (2015)

Monitoring visit by the Congress to the Slovak Republic

Strasbourg, 8 March 2015 – A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is to make a monitoring visit to the Slovak Republic from 7 to 9 December. Congress rapporteurs Artur Torres Pereira, (Portugal, EPP/CCE) and Leen Verbeek (The Netherlands, SOC) will examine the follow-up action taken on the commitments made by this country in the sphere of devolution when it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2000. The delegation will focus in particular on the developments in the field of local and regional democracy occurred since the last Congress monitoring visit in 2006.

On 7 December, high-level meetings were scheduled in Bratislava. The delegation met, in particular Marian Salon, State Secretary of the Ministry of Interior, František Palko, Secretary of State to the Minister of Transport, Construction and Regional Development as well as Ivo Nesrovnal, Mayor of Bratislava.

Meetings are also scheduled with Peter Pellegrini, President of the National Parliament, Karol Mitrík, President of the Supreme Audit Office of the Slovak Republic as well as Jana Dubovcova, Public Defender of Rights.

The delegation will also be meeting the General Prosecutor of the Slovak Republic, the mayors of Bratislava, Nitra and Dunajská Streda, representatives of the Bratislava and Nitra Self-Governing Regions as well as the national associations of local authorities and members of the Slovak delegation to the Congress.

The countries which have ratified the Charter are bound by its provisions. The Charter requires compliance with a minimum number of rights which form the European foundation for local self-government. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe makes sure that these principles are observed.

File on "Monitoring of local and regional democracy"

European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretary to the Congress Monitoring Committee, Mobile: +33 3 90 21 51 84, E-mail: Stephanie.poirel@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CCE), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)