









Ref. PACE 203 (2012)

International parliamentary observers prepare to deploy across Ukraine

Kyiv, 26.10.2012 -- The heads of the parliamentary delegations of the OSCE, Council of Europe, European Parliament and NATO, and of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) election observation mission today met in Kyiv to begin the final phase of the international election observation mission.

The International Election Observation Mission comprises more than 800 observers. Walburga Habsurg Douglas, is the Special Co-ordinator to lead the short-term OSCE observer mission and Head of the OSCE PA delegation. Pawel Kowal heads the European Parliament delegation. Andreas Gross heads the PACE delegation. Assen Agov heads the NATO Parliamentary Assembly delegation, and Audrey Glover is the Head of the OSCE/ODIHR election observation mission.

At the start of their two days of briefings in Kyiv, the heads of the parliamentary delegations issued the following statement:

"We appreciate the invitation to observe the parliamentary elections in Ukraine. The record number of observers that have come here from North America, Europe and Central Asia for this event underscores the importance we as the international community place on Ukraine's democratic progress. We hope to see the citizens of Ukraine participate fully in Sunday's vote and look forward to issuing our joint statement about these elections on Monday."

Media contacts:

Neil Simon, OSCE PA, neil@oscepa.dk, +38095 931 1285

Agnese Krivade, European Parliament, aqnese.krivade@europarl.europa.eu, +38 066 521 4811

Angus Macdonald, PACE, angus.macdonald@coe.int, +38 097 259 9713

Svitlana Svyetova, NATO PA, ssvetova@nato-pa.int, +38 095 931 0146



The Assembly brings together 318 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President:Jean-Claude Mignon (EPP/CD) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki. Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialist Group); EDG (European Democrat Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).