Press Release - Council of Europe - Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

T +33(0)390214895

Ref. CG-PR044(2011)

The Congress to complete a monitoring visit in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Strasbourg, 08.12.2011 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is carrying out a monitoring visit, from 12 to 13 December 2011, to evaluate the situation of local and regional democracy in Bosnia and Herzegovina. This is the second stage in the monitoring process, which was launched by a first visit in April 2011. The Congress rapporteurs, Jean-Marie BELLIARD (France, NR) and Beat HIRS (Switzerland, ILDG) will examine the honouring of commitments entered into by Bosnia and Herzegovina with regard to local and regional self-government, in the light of the country's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in July 2002.

During this monitoring visit the Congress delegation will meet with Zoran MIKULIĆ, Minister of Justice of the FbiH and the members of Audit Offices of both Entities -  Ibrahim OKANOVIĆ, Auditor general  for the Institutions of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), and Bosko ČEKO, Auditor general for the Institutions of Republika Srpska (RS).

In addition, talks are scheduled with Sarajevo and Herzegovina-Neretva cantonal authorities: Fikret MUSIĆ, Prime Minister of the Sarajevo Canton, Mirjana MALIĆ, President of the Cantonal Assembly of Sarajevo, Denis LASIĆ and Radenko MIRIĆ, respectively Prime Minister and Minister for Justice, Government and Local Self-Government of the Herzegovina-Neretva Canton, and Ramiz JELOVAC, President of the Cantonal Assembly of the Hercegovina-Neretva.

Meetings with Vinko RADOVANOVIĆ, Mayor of East Sarajevo, Mr Miroslav LUČIĆ, President of the East Sarajevo City Council, the Vice-Presidents of the Mostar City Council – Slađana GOTOVAC and Danijel VIDOVIĆ, as well as representatives of the Mostar City administration will round off the visit.

Contact on the spot:

Jean-Philippe Bozouls, Congress Secretariat, tel: +33 6 72 75 42 97

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.
It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.
President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)
Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People’s Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).