Press Release - Council of Europe - Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

T +33(0)390214895

Ref. CG-PR030(2011)

Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Bulgaria

Strasbourg, 17.10.2011 - A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will observe the local elections in Bulgaria on 23 October 2011.

On 21 and 22 October, the delegation will hold meetings in Sofia with representatives of the government, including representatives of the Ministry of Local and Regional Development and Public Works, the Central Election Commission as well as representatives of the Bulgarian delegation to the Congress and associations of local and regional authorities. Views will also be exchanged with representatives of the OSCE-ODIHR Limited Election Observation Mission.

On 22 October six Congress delegations will be deployed to several regions of the country to meet with candidates and observe the vote on Election Day.

The Congress delegation will present its preliminary findings to the media on Monday 24 October 2011 at 11:30 (local time), at the Radisson Blu Grand Hotel, (4, Narodno Sabranie Sq., 1000 Sofia).

Congress delegation

Fleur BUTLER United Kingdom (NR)

Xavier CADORET, France (SOC) 

Dusica DAVIDOVIC, Serbia (NR)

Jon HERMANS-VLOEDBELD, the Netherlands (ILDG)

Mihkel JUHKAMI, Estonia (EPP/CD) (Head of delegation)

David KATAMADZE, Georgia (EPP/CD)

Jean-Pierre LIOUVILLE, France (SOC)

Vincent MCHUGH, Ireland (ILDG)

Raymond TABONE, Malta (SOC)


Contact on the spot:

Renate Zikmund,  Head of the Division of Communication and Election Observation, mobile : +33 659 786 455

Web : File “Observation of elections”

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.
It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.
President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)
Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People’s Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).